We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved by the Locals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shore Fresh Seafood Market & Restaurant

Shore Fresh Seafood Market & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Simple. Fresh. Genuine Jersey Shore cuisine. Shore Fresh's unique twist on a classic fish market welcomes you year-round with two locations in Point Pleasant, NJ. Casual, relaxed dining experience like no other, and BYOB. Cooking at home? Fire up those grills... they're ready for our local summer catch!
Pt Pleasant
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Loved by the Locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We eat at Shore Fresh once a week. The quality of the food is outstanding. It's a fish market with a few tables inside and a few outdoors and there is always a line in the Summer and on Fridays during Lent. The chowders are fantastic, chock full of fresh clams, the white is my favorite. The lobster bisque is excellent as well. My favorite dish is the linguini with white clam sauce. It comes out in a skillet, right off the stove. This is a no frills establishment. You are eating in a fish market, so think beach casual. If your heels are higher than flip flops, you are over dressed! Plastic and paper for everything, which adds to it's charm. We usually bring our own silverware for the linguini which is pretty challenging to eat with plastic. They don't mind if you BYOB or Italian bread to go with your pasta. We have also had the fish and chips, scallops, and the crab cake sandwich and all are fresh and delicious. They also have the best skin on homemade fries at the shore, complete with malt vinegar. With the fish and chips, you have a choice of cod, flounder or grouper. Portion sizes are average, not small, not huge. The prices are slightly less than most shore restaurants. The freshness of the fish is worth every penny.tuyere are two locations, one in Point Beach and one in Point Boro. We eat at both and both have outdoor dining in the summer. The staff is quick, friendly and helpful. If the line is too long, I suggest take out. Call ahead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTravelTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    51
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
piscataway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Soup and Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just moved here and had come down once a week since November to do work on the house. Each time I came I stopped at shore fresh for a bowl of lobster bisque and last time a shrimp po boy. Awesome. Now that I'm here full time each week I walk over and get a large soup and bring it home. This place has really great seafood, Always fresh and they are really nice to everyone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dduck024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point pleasant
1 review
“Toothpick-size portions”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you like minuscule portions of food at expensive prices, you've come to the right place. I am a lifelong local who had the pleasure of being ripped off by this local establishment. The only thing going for Shore Fresh is that the seafood is fresh - I can't take that from them. But you would be better served (and better satiated) by eating somewhere else.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best kept local secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Bridge Ave location is tiny with a downscale atmosphere but it's my favorite. I often stop by to pick up a quart or two of their clam chowder, either Manhattan Red or New England White -it's the BEST in the area - hands down! Full of clams, perfect! They have fresh, high quality seafood and they know how to cook it. Paper placemats and plastic forks, generous portions and the food is absolutely delicious. Sit down, take out, or bring home fresh seafood from the market. Love the lobster roll, french fries are fresh cut. Why cook for a holiday when you can order from the catering menu? Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suzyseashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great value, no frills, tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

have been coming to point pleasant for years and somehow missed this place. nothing much to look at, but the food was fresh and delish! some outdoor seating. prompt and friendly service. and the value can't be beat. had the fisherman's stew and a bottle of water for under $20. and the portion was substantial. it's down the road from two other popular restaurants, and they charge at least twice as much. this place is apparently a fisherman's co-op, so it's nice to be able to support not only a local business but the people who go out and bring in the catch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shore Fresh Seafood Market & Restaurant also viewed

Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
 
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Shore Fresh Seafood Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing