We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't go back”

The Offshore Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went there for dinner with my husband and children. The staff was friendly, but the quality of food was disappointing. Not at all what we expected. We will not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You Deserve Better!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

There is only one word for this place: "understaffed!" We were a large party-- granted, eight of us who had made a reservation. Perhaps we missed the memo about post Labor Day staff flees the area to avoid the Visigoths! Anyway, we could have been some barbarian tribe judging by the service rate. Most of us might have died by the time the food arrived, much of it cold and/or undercooked. But we endured, and as far as I know are still walking on all fours. Good luck if you select this place. In fairness, might be a decent place had there been enough service. By the way, our waitress is up for canonization Stay tuned.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irishcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice spot, great food.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Good food, family friendly, good beer prices in a classy atmosphere. Located near the boardwalk and beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointed :-(”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This has been one of my favorite local restaurants for years (over 20 years) However, the last two times we have gone, it was barely mediocre. I love their Shrimp Parmigiana. But last night it was over cooked and very dry. We also ordered an appetizer of oysters. There were 4 oysters on the plate. That was hardly worth it. The waitress was very nice but a bit inexperienced compared to the long time staff that usually works there. Our bread basket came at the end of the meal only after we asked a bus boy for bread.

I hate to say, I have seen a decline in the food and service over the past couple of years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris1202Howell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gone down hill!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I've been dining at this restaurant for the past eight years and have seen a decline in the service and food. I recently dined here with friends and will not be returning anytime soon. The wait staff was very slow and couldn't handle the crowd, and the food was disappointing. Like I said its gone down hill..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Offshore Restaurant also viewed

Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
 
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
 
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Offshore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing