We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pleasantville
BALTIMORE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice hotel, good location but rooms and hallways could be a little cleaner . . . did not like entering through the back entrance, door was to be locked and only card holders to use but door was sitting wide open with access to anyone . . did not like that

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank TERRI R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ya W, Manager at Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us the feedback concerning your stay at Howard Johson West Atlantic City. Your advice and opinion are very valuable and helpful to us. We have re-organized our hotel's cleaning team, which will definitely do a better job in cleaning. The back entrance door has been fixed already. Now it will close automatically , and can only be open with guest room keys.
Again, thank your for your comments. We will do our best to make each and and every guest experience the best it can be
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    35
    47
    60
    97
See reviews for
95
81
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel itself was in a great location ,but it could have stood for better cleanliness and hospitality.great price as well,enjoyed our vacation anyways but we understood that the building was under remodeling and new management but if you want others to stay there hopefully there will be some new and improved changes .Thank You.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank PHILLIP W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ya W, Manager at Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking time to give us your comment regarding your recent stay with Howard Johnson West Atlantic City. Yes, the hotel is now under new ownership and new management. We are diligently working on improving our service and our property. To make each and every guest experience the best it can be is always our goal. Your feedback is extremely important for the new owner and new management to take action to solve the problems. Thank you again, and we are looking to provide you a better service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

It was comfy.
The halls weren't clean the whole time. A cricket and string were in the hall way the whole time we were there, which we stayed for 4 days.
Location was excellent for the beach. Didn't take long to get there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank MEGAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ya W, Manager at Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with Howard Johnson Hotel at West Altantic City,NJ. We know that you have a choice of which hotel to stay, and we are delighted that you have chosen ours. Your comment is very important to us. We have re-organized our hotel cleaning team to make sure that our hotel is maintained in a clean condition all the time.
Thank you for staying with us. We are looking to provide a better service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROOKLYN
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I think who ever took over this property over should remodel the entire building the mold smell is awful. I suffer from asthma and I had a awful stay. When I reported this to the front desk I was told the entire building smells of mold the only thing could be done was for me to check out. If that's the case you should close down. You could not identify the staff hotel employees are normally uniformed the staff didn't wear name tags it was just a mess. How do you work in the hotel industry and have on shorts, sandals, tee shirts? I would like to be refunded for my 2 days

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank FRANCINE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ya W, Manager at Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback concerning your stay at our hotel. I apologize that your experience is not pleasant. Your feedback is extremly important and valuable. We are actually now working on the issues you mentioned above. We are doing deep cleaning of our hotel, and our uniforms for hotel staffs have also been ordered.
Thank you again for giving us your comment. We hope to provide you a better service next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pleasantville hotels

NUTLEY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I cannot tell you how disappointed I was when I pulled up to the hotel. If I could have cancelled on the spot and got my money back right then I would. This hotel was deceiveing in a lot of ways. I booked on line and the pictures of the hotel were NOT of this hotel. Apparently this was a hotel of a different name that Howard Johnson is now taking over. A tarp was covering the original name of the hotel (very tacky) the grounds were horribly kept, weeds, garbage, people in the back working on something making lots of noise, a smell in the lobby I cannot detect but not pleasant. The room looked ok until I put the (one light) that worked on. Now I know why they keep it dark. There was rips in the mattress box spring, the cable to the AC was draped on the floor (I have pictures) and the AC shut down after two hours of putting it on because it froze. As it defrosted we hear the ice falling off (while pretty much sweating). The bathroom tub had brown spots in the corners (I have pictures) and there was a glob of makeup on the floor (from the previous visitor) that I had to clean up with about ten tissues. Ugh, Im getting aggravated just writing this down. Needless to say, NOT HAPPY at ALL with my stay. Oh, the continental breakfast (that I am used to seeing at other HJ's we've stayed at) was the flip side of the coin here. Lets just say I wouldn't eat it.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank FRANK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very nice friendly staff. Inside was very clean hallways had some little pieces of paper looked like from vending machine. Outside could use some help. Overall we were very pleased. Thought the location was great.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrberr612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

had to stay there one night due to reservation problems at the resort .booked online the morning of the ac air show for 69 bucks.the desk clerk seemed like he just worked a two day shift moving in slow motion.the woman waiting in front of me was charged 169 for the same type room. the hallway and room smelled like mold ,but the linen and towels were clean smelling. i had to mess with the shower to get it to work{at least somewhat}.i did notice they had a pool and a kiddie pool that look clean. the beds were comfortable and after lysoling and lighting a odor eater candle the room was sleepable.. i wouldn't stay there for vacation but in a pinch if your stuck in ac its ok for the night.everyone was awake promptly at 7.45 with housekeeping banging on the door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasantville
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites West Atlantic City
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Atlantic City West Extended Stay & Suites
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,109 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#8 of 50 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7,325 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Pleasantville
Quality Inn Pleasantville
#3 of 15 in Pleasantville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel

Property: Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel
Address: 8029 Black Horse Pike, Pleasantville, NJ 08232-2854 (Formerly Howard Johnson Atlantic City West)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Pleasantville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pleasantville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Pleasantville
Quality Hotel Pleasantville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing