We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUN FOR YOUR LIFE !! IM SERIOUS !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pleasantville
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“RUN FOR YOUR LIFE !! IM SERIOUS !!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed there for Memorial day weekend & the hallways were dark,damp & smelled like mildew and smoke. The rooms were the same with the exception of broken headboards, broken TV with only 2 stations working.
Cigarette burn marks on the comforters.
Carpeting always felt wet, NO towels, maid would leave one !!
No hot water ! Ice machines did not work !
other guests were complaining as well.
Buyers beware !

Room Tip: on the strip were travelodge,ramada
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havie1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    47
    60
    100
See reviews for
97
81
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed at Harrahs. Very nice clean hotel it has a resort feel. The buffet is excellent they have a large variety of food and desserts. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingergirl456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

With that said, I wasn't expecting a 5-star hotel, but I was at least expecting it to be clean. We checked in on Saturday around 4pm. There was a line of people waiting to check in and only one guy working the reception desk. Between him booking rooms over the phone and trying to serve customers in line, it took about 30 minutes before I got my room keys. We go to our our room (#146) and it smelled like death, mildew, and mold. It was dark, humid, and sticky-felling. Immediately I called the front desk and told them this room was unacceptable. He apologized and offered us a different room. We got to our room (#206) and it was so much better. The room was lit up nice, smelled better (although I'm sure every room smells like cigarrette smoke..even the hallways smell of smoke), and the sheets looked almost brand new. I realize that room #206 must be a renovated room. We ended up next to very loud noisy neighbors who finally settled down around 2 a.m. The hotel is definitely sketchy and I would make sure you can see your car from your window. Our television had 5 channels and the picture and sound quality of the channels were horrible. This hotel used to be a Quality Inn and I can see why they lost their flag.

If this wasn't a last minute booking, I would have never stayed here.

Room Tip: If you aren't satisfied with your room, ASK FOR ANOTHER! All rooms are NOT created alike
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank temple2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pleasantville hotels

Wilkes-Barre
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This place was terrible. The people at check in cant speak English and didn't know why the pool was closed. The snack bar/restaurant was not open. The TV had only 3 stations that worked and one was a golf channel. Room and entire hotel needs to be updated. To top it all off I am a C.S.I and found a lot of semen on the bedding under ultraviolet light!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanPWilkes_Barre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We booked a room because it was "recommended" by an agent from getaroom.com. When we got there and went to our room the smell could not be ignored. It was horrible. Once in the room my wife took off her shoes and the carpet was wet. The manger gave us another room that was suposedly non-smoking, yet it smelled musty and smoky. We finally decided that we could not stay there because it was so bad. Paid a little more, but got a much cleaner room right in AC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laxer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

The rooms are fine; clean and roomy, but I agree with the other reviews that they do smell a little damp. The only selling point for me was the gym. However, the equipment is a little tired. In relation to the rooms, if you stay near the 130 rooms then be prepared to hear the constant droans of the dryer.

We got a voucher for Breakfast and when I go there the chef/waitress had a real attitude problem. I was told that if I walk any further then I would be considered as staff. This is not acceptable and it did not come accross as a joke. What the website does not tell you is that breakfast with this voucher consists of porridge, which is like gruel; a doghnut and a bun oh and one cup of coffee. If you want a cooked breakfast then the voucher gets you $2 off; the website does not tell you this - some other customers complained and the response of the waitress/cher was 'this is not my problem, management have decided to do this'.

The pool was closed as was the tennis court and the buisness suite is a joke. the computer did not even turn on when we wanted to print something off. Overall, a poor experience and we will not be coming here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I was there with my sister. Only positive note: The girl at the front desk was nice. That's about it. Clearly, most of the people at this hotel live there. There was arguing in the rooms near us, black guys checking us out in the hallways, kids running in the halls and the parking lot--one of them i almost hit when trying to park. The shuttle service they advertise is a joke--so don't plan on staying here and easily getting to the casinos. We checked out within 1 hour of arriving it was that sketchy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilove2travel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasantville
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites West Atlantic City
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
17,265 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Atlantic City West Extended Stay & Suites
3.5 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel

Property: Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel
Address: 8029 Black Horse Pike, Pleasantville, NJ 08232-2854 (Formerly Howard Johnson Atlantic City West)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Pleasantville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pleasantville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oh St Joseph Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Pleasantville
Quality Hotel Pleasantville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing