We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, Quiet, Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Princeton Southeast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plainsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel is located right off of US1 and off the beaten path. It is connected to the Crowne Plaza Conference Center and shares the pool and exercise areas with them. It is a walk to get to the pool, but it is very nice and relaxing, breakfast is downstairs in the hotel (Holiday Inn) and is great.

Room Tip: We were on an upper floor facing the woods, very nice, we saw lots of wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Princeton Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear V J,
Thank you for sharing your Holiday Inn Express Princeton SE experience with the TripAdvisor community. We certainly appreciate your honest feedback. We strive daily to provide our guests with an atmosphere in which they can relax and be themselves, and it’s such a pleasure to hear that your stay was quiet and enjoyable. It sounds like you had the opportunity to enjoy some of our amenities such as the extensive fitness center and indoor pool as well as our complimentary Express Start Breakfast. And we must agree with you, our location is the perfect combination of easy access to Princeton and Rt. 1 and wooded serenity. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton SE is certainly the place to go for peace, quiet, and relaxation. We would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you on all of your future trips to the Princeton area. Feel free to contact us at 609-936-6600 to book your next getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 161 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is located off US-1, near a couple of pharmaceutical companies and down the road from a couple shopping centers in Plainsboro. It takes 10-20 minutes to get to downtown Princeton, depending on traffic, which isn't that bad.

The rooms are nice, clean, and quiet, since you are well off the highway. The staff was courteous and helpful, and the breakfast each morning was more than sufficient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Princeton Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Chris B,

Thank you for the feedback concerning your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Princeton SE. Our location was thoughtfully chosen to be a pleasant combination of wooded serenity and access to all that the Princeton area has to offer. We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be fresh and clean, and our staff to be friendly and accommodating. Those are both things we strive for daily. We certainly hope you had the opportunity to enjoy several of our amenities during your stay, such as the heated indoor pool, extensive fitness center, or Flight, our wine and martini lounge. It was such a pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Princeton. If you should require any assistance with your future reservations, feel free to contact us at 609-936-6600.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is not your typical HIE... The hotel is in the same building as another IHG property, Crowne Plaza, and a Conference Center, all connected by corridors. I believe, this whole complex is an old Marriott, but very well refurbished. Stayed here for two nights, and even though we spent little time in the hotel itself, the hotel staff proved to be very helpful and the spacious room with a nice wooded view was great. The hotel is located in a quiet wooded area a mile or two off of Rt 1, and only 3-4 miles from Princeton U. They share a shuttle that runs from 7am to 11pm (!!!) with the Crowne Plaza, which we took full advantage of to commute to/from Princeton. In fact, when on two occasions the shuttle wasn't available as requested, the hotel simply called and covered the cost of a limo-like cab for us.

Up until now, for my semi-regular business trips to Princeton, I've usually opted for the Homewood Suites located directly on Rt. 1. From now on, it's going to be only this HIE or the Crowne Plaza...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slava L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Princeton Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Slava L,

Thank you for the thoughtful review of your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Princeton SE. As an IHG Rewards Club Platinum Member, your feedback is of extreme importance to us. Thank you for taking the time to share your Holiday Inn Express Princeton experience with us and others. As a team, we strive daily to provide our guests with everything they need for a productive, comfortable stay while they conduct business in Princeton. It’s such a pleasure to know that you found our staff friendly and accommodating and our rooms fresh, clean, and modern. And you’re right, we are proud to offer our guests a wide variety of amenities that aren't typically available at the average Holiday Inn Express. Our guests have full access to our heated indoor pool, our extensive fitness center, a full-service restaurant, and Flight, our wine and martini lounge. In addition, we always serve our complimentary Express Start Breakfast and offer our guests that complimentary shuttle you found so useful. We are incredibly pleased that you found our hotel more than suitable for all of you future accommodation needs in the Princeton area. If you should require any assistance with your future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact us at 609-936-6600.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Holiday inn express is one of my new favorite hotels. Their rooms just make sense and are beautifully designed. I've stayed at worse 4 stars hotels. This hotel is reasonable and is really nice. Holiday inn has came a long wAy with their hotel "image". Salute to them :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank L3en007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Princeton Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear L3en007,

Thank you for the hearty salute and friendly review. We certainly appreciate your feedback. You are absolutely right concerning Holiday Inn Express’' vision for its hotels. We strive to provide fresh, comfortable rooms for our guests to relax and be themselves during their travels. In fact, our hotel specifically was just honored with the 2013 Renovation Award from IHG hotels, so we’re incredibly pleased to hear that our guests appreciate our new layout and modern décor. We would be absolutely honored to accommodate you on your future trips to Princeton. Feel free to contact us at 609-936-6600 for all of your reservation needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel (a former Wyndham property) last May and Hotwire assigned me there again in early October. This visit was even better than the last owing to their very helpful service. I was also offered two bottles of water as a Priority Club member even though I hadn't booked through their site.

That morning, I'd found myself waiting for a diverted flight at the Kansas City airport which was going to result in a misconnect in Dallas for my onward Baltimore flight. I called the Holiday Inn Express to alert them to what would now be my very late arrival. Moreover, I asked about a mini fridge being placed in my room to chill insulin since I knew I'd arrive well past the normal hours of service by maintenance staff. MARGARET, the person with whom I spoke, took care of everything perfectly for me. I arrived at 12:30 AM, was greeted warmly, and assigned an ADA room (even though I hadn't requested it) much closer to the lobby than on my previous visit. And when I arrived in my room, there was the mini fridge quietly humming and already cold. And thank the Lord for bedside lamps with sockets in their bases. Those are perfect for plugging in my C-Pap machine.

IMG has done a masterful job rehabbing this property. My spacious room with its serene, pastoral view, had 3 walls in a calming sage color while the entire 4th interior wall separating the bathroom was a dazzling print of a silhouetted array of white flowers on a (some shade of) red background with that pattern reflected in the one piece of art work in the room with the same flower silhouetted flowers but in green on a white background.

While situated in an office park (pharmaceuticals plus the Princeton Regional Med Center), this hotel is an oasis of calm and serenity only 10 minutes from Princeton itself. There's easy access to all kinds of restaurants along busy U.S. 1 as well as the nearby Plainsboro Plaza.

Room Tip: Ask for a room relatively near the lobby or elevators. My previous visit's room was a schlep vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Princeton Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

<p>Dear Jim H,</p>
Thank you for the beaming review. We certainly enjoyed hosting you on your return trip to the Princeton area. We know how stressful traveling can be, especially with flight delays, so we pride ourselves in providing a stress-free, relaxing atmosphere for our guests. From our modern, fresh décor to our Signature Shower Experience, to our Express Start Breakfast, we strive to give you everything you need for complete relaxation. We are certainly glad to have provided you with the elements necessary for you to continue with your healthcare routine while traveling, without a hiccup. Each of our employees takes great pride in serving our guests, and it’s such a pleasure to hear that you found Margaret to be helpful and friendly. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Princeton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is a little off the main road, which is an advantage. It is quieter than the many other hotels in Princeton, yet it is close to the town of Princeton. Staff members were friendly, accommodations were clean and comfortable, and the fitness center (shared with another hotel) was the best hotel fitness center I've used.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbaranoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Princeton Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Barbaranoho,
<br>
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Princeton SE. We must agree with you, our location is an ideal combination of wooded serenity and convenient access to all that Princeton has to offer. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed our modern, fresh guest rooms and vast amenities, such as our extensive fitness center. We invite you to return to enjoy Flight, our newly-launched wine and martini bar serving smart cocktails and bar menu items prepared by executive chef CJ Chambers, featuring an eclectic center of the plate cuisine. It would be our pleasure to accommodate you on all of your future trips to the Princeton area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is very modern, beautiful lobby and rooms! the location is very woodsy which I loved. Has a walking path, but due to our short visit we didn't get to enjoy the outside. The gym has everything you need for a great workout! I loved it, it was very spacious not at all what I was expecting. The breakfast area was very warm and inviting, the breakfast itself was good, loved the pancake machine.
The room was very big and very well designed with lots of space. You also had a good selection of movies that are free. It was more than I expected the hotel to be.

It has a great Mexican restaurant just down the road from there along with other restaurant selections. Would definately go again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyoricancharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Princeton Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear newyoricancharm,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Princeton. It was an absolute joy to read your review. We were recently honored to have received the IHG 2013 Renovation Award for our hotel’s modernization, so it’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our fresh, contemporary guest rooms and extensive amenities. We know that our guests want to relax and be themselves while they travel, so we are determined to provide every amenity necessary for just that. From our extensive fitness center, to our complimentary Express Start Breakfast, to our in-room movies, we strive daily to provide our guests with everything they need for a relaxing stay in Princeton. Again, thank you for providing us with valuable feedback. If you should require accommodations the Princeton area in the future, we would treasure the opportunity to serve you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainsboro
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Princeton - Conference Center
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
#13 of 15 in Princeton
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
876 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Princeton Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Princeton Southeast

Address: 870 Scudders Mill Rd, Plainsboro, NJ 08536-1606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Plainsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plainsboro
Price Range: $111 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Princeton Southeast 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Stay You” at the Brand New Holiday Inn Express Princeton Southeast. The Holiday Inn Express®hotel is conveniently located just minutes from historic, downtown Princeton; our comfortable accommodations provide the amenities and services travelers expect at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Princeton Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing