We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 for 8 a perfect 10, don't let the outside paint job scare you away”

Ye Olde Centerton Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Pittsgrove
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“8 for 8 a perfect 10, don't let the outside paint job scare you away”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Our family(8) had Mother's day lunch here, all eight dishes were fantastic. Spanned the range from Delmonico steak, chicken, shrimp stuffed with crab, grouper, other fish "assortment" dishes. Service was on top of things but not in "our face". At the end of your meal they brought out an assortment of bite size patries and cake 'bits'. Would suggest to get there a bit prior to your meal to enjoy a refreshment in the neat Bar area. The exterior is in need of a paint job but it kind of adds to the country feel that you begin to fall into on the drive there to the second oldest operating Inn in the U.S., since 1702. It has been added to our list of "to return again" restaurants.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmer, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great old Inn”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Upscale dining in an authentic old stage coach stop. Great salads and main courses with an assorted dish of petite desserts included!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really, really like the place!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012 via mobile

I have been here many times for both a romantic dinner with my husband or with family or friends. This is a historic site, complete with fire places in two rooms. There is quiet music in the background so you can still hold a conversation. All of the staff is super friendly and very competent. The drinks at the bar are quite generous and mixed almost correctly. The food is always prepared fresh. If you like garlic, the Centerton Inn salad is what you need to order. I have never had a bad meal here. If I had to fault one thing, then I would say that it is too much food, but then I am pretty small :-)

Helpful?
2 Thank Cruisin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“always good”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

food is always good, only complaint is lightening. last time it was REALLY dark in dining area.

Helpful?
Thank qbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, great food, a special place to dine”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is an old inn, with fireplaces in two of the dining rooms. The atmosphere is great and the food and service superb. We shared an artichoke and spinach appetizer whihc was the best we have ever had. Specialites are steaks and seafood but they also have poultry dishes. Their centeron salad in wonderful but you have to like garlic. Homemade rolla are a nice accompanient and the owner can recommend good wines to go with the meal. We plan on going more often.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tusenkatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Centerton Inn also viewed

 

Been to Ye Olde Centerton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing