We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior, best in our area.”
Review of Barcelona Bistro - CLOSED

Barcelona Bistro
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superior, best in our area.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

From the excellent garlic soup to the chocolate mousse cake, fantastic. The Chet's take on sauces excel. I had a simple salmon with a sun-dried tomato sauce that was so delicious. The homemade, herbed bread was great for sobbing up the exquisite sauce. Salmon was cooked perfectly with crunchy skin and served over great garlic mashed. Everything was served at the perfect temperature, sauce,potatoes,fish. Side veggies were delicious as well, not just an afterthought. A nice Spanish take on many familiar and unique dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Porkiechop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pitman
1 review
“great restaurant”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

this is a hidden gem in the hear of PITMAN.....i cant say enough of Barcelona and i do agree with South Jersey Magazine its top 25 in south jersey.I go to this restaurant often and have never had a bad meal the filet mignon spring roll,the baked brie,enpanadas etc...are all great for my meal i have had the paela,lamb shank,salmon and the veal marsala made reservation for VALENTINES day and i can not wait to see what BARCELONA will have on the menu.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I ate here tonight and it was great. We both chose dishes off of the menu; my husband got pork chops, which were done to perfection and I had chicken with garlic sauce, which was delicious. They are a BYOB, so we brought a bottle of wine. One slight disappointment is that we weren't given a choice for our side dishes. The menu said that our meals came with a starch and vegetable and they were just what they were serving today, which was rice and a vegetable medley. The side dishes were delicious, so that eased the disappointment, but I still would have liked having choices. We didn't get appetizers or dessert, but they had a large and varied selection of both, as well as several soups. Parking is on the street, but it's free and plentiful.

If the weather is nice, consider leaving extra time before or after so you can walk around Pitman. It's a nice town with lots of small shops and parks. Plan time after your meal, and you can walk off the calories. You can see the menu on their website at http://www.barcelonabistro.net/home.html.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
180 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Low expectations but tapas were excellent”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After reading some very negative reviews, I was a bit skeptical about dining there, but my husband had bought a groupon, so we went to dinner combining it with a theater trip to the Broadway in Pitman, I had never even been to Pitman before. The atmosphere wasn't anything to really comment on -- one large room with paintings/photographs on the wall which were not thematic to the restaurant, but so what. The one thing that surprised me was the jarring sound of the restaurant's telephone ringing throughout the dining room. Anyway, all the help were very friendly, and after some initial confusion over whether our groupon was good for only dinner or the tapas, which would not have mattered anyway, we had our choice of tapas. . . We are seafood lovers, so we ordered "hot" mussels, clams with pork, calamari in garlic and salt sauce (I'm not sure of the actual names of the dishes). My husband wanted to try the gazpacho soup, which was excellent but I thought that the toast/crouton was too oily and maybe a bit rancid. We also got the bruschetta with blue cheese, which, although was not how I had pictured it, was very tasty. But again, for my taste, it was way too much oil in the salsa. The calamari was a bit chewy but good. In fact, all the sauces of the different seafood we tried, were excellent and we had to get more bread, which was YUMMY. The mussels in the hot sauce made me tear up, and the clam and pork combination was surprisingly good. We also got an order of muchrooms. Although I loved how crispy they were, they were definitely oversalted. Being conscious of sodium intake, my husband, especially, couldn't eat them. We told the waitress about that and she said she would tell the chef. At first I was planning to take the mushrooms home, to reuse them on a pizza but changed my mind and ate them, since we were going on to a show afterwards. We also got desert -- the manhattan, I think she called it, It was a tartuffe -- chocolate ball with chopped maraschino cherry in the center, surrounded by vanilla and chocolate ice cream, encased in a chocolate shell. This was attractively sliced and served so we could share it. Each tapas was in a $9 range, the soup less, and the desert, too. The portions were enough for us to share, but if we had ordered only 2 each, we'd have left hungry. But we were happy, and would go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nitvoyodelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“tapas tapas tapas”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

i had the tapas the menu last nite and it was fantastic will be as to have the 7 fishes menu xmas eve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ant s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing