We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location”
Review of Motel 6 Piscataway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Piscataway
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Piscataway
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value, good location”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Set in a good location, a 5 minute drive by car or taxi to the Edison train station which is just an hour train journey into New York. Plenty of restaurants and places to eat nearby, reachable by foot or a short drive including a Wendy's, Dunkin Donuts and Burger King just across the Motel 6 car park. A Walmart and other shops just round the corner, and the Middlesex Mall across the road.
I stayed here over Christmas and New Years for almost 2 weeks on a budget - Motel 6 was good value and affordable.
The motel provided laundry facilities, vending machines and ice-machines.
The room had a good TV and a seated/table area.
Most of the staff were friendly and helpful.

However...

The room was so spacious with no carpeted floor so in the winter the room got so cold and the heater was too noisy to keep on throughout the night. There was a lack of storage space for clothes, I had to fold/lay all my clothes on the floor. The bed sheets had cigarette burn holes in them!
Housekeeping only came twice during my 2 week stay, so I had a build up of trash and often had to ask reception for more toilet paper and towels.
My door key cards kept failing so often had to get reception to re-activate my cards.
The corridor was echoey and constantly stank of smoke and weed. Some guests over the weekends were very noisy and disrespectful usually til 4/5am - kept their room doors open while playing their loud music and using the corridor as a running race track.

The motel could use some improvements but overall my stay was ok. Would recommend this motel to any solo travelers or young couples for a short term stay or those on a budget.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepper2429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    20
    9
    17
See reviews for
20
18
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The first night there was a man yelling someones name and knocking on all the doors. My son and I went to the lobby to get a drink from the vending machine and got a dirty look from the front desk. Never had any towels had to find someone and get some everyday.Hallways were full of smoke, cigs and pot smell. Room was not touched the second night. Stairwells were really dirty. Had to always were shoes in our room, floors were not touched, not once. I advise you to not stay here, not safe at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shocked2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Piscataway hotels

Greentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a no frills motel.It has hardwood floors instead of carpets. The beds , table and bookcase are on pedistals. It makes it easy to clean the floor The room was very clean.No traffic noise.
There are 3 malls nearby and several restaurants. nearby. I come down from Pennsylvania to have dinner with a friend each month at Applebees, 2 lights away.I I will be coming back each month.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiddenite, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just close enough to new york city. Not too expensive. Walking distance to dunkin donuts and wal-mart. great location. I found the clerks to be very helpfull. we got an early check in too. My son and I tossed the football around a bit in the little grassy area out front.

Room Tip: Ok no frills, but a good clean room to sleep in, and for the price cant beat it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

UNSAFE - and the staff doesn't care!
As my wife and I walked up to the door (late at night), a strange man came out and said there were no rooms available. I thought that was very odd since I called ahead and was told there were plenty of rooms. The man then told us that there was another Motel 6 up the road (which there isn't) and wanted me to drive him there. Thankfully we got to our car and got out of there before anything happened. The worst part - I immediately called the hotel to let them know what happened. The lady on the phone said there are plenty of rooms available - just come on in. I repeated the story of what happened, assuming that she would be concerned about a strange man chasing away customers and soliciting favors. She didn't seem to care at all.

I have stayed here before, but never again. I refuse to sacrifice my family's safety to save a few bucks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamMasterJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

DO NOT stay at this hotel. The "manager", Melissa Hawthorne, She should NOT have gotten this position as a manager. my husband heard her saying something about black trash staying at hotel. She gave us different and wayy higher prices than the actual Motel 6 reservations 1800 number. She knew my husband was working there and needed a room for a month. She then decided to switch him over to another room and said that she accidentally over booked the hotel. Then she told him to leave because she didn't have enough room. She had him booked as a two people staying in a room and had him paying for two people even though it was only him. When I contacted the corporate office about this matter, they said he was in their computer as "2 people" and advised him to go back to the front desk and get refund but when he got there, Melissa had changed the reservation to one person and since he paid in cash there was nothing she could do about it. Melissa is charging one guest for two people and then pocking the money for it. She needs to go. I have NEVER in my life seen anything like this situation. We always stay at motel 6 all over the United States but are now finding another chain to go through. I have never been treated like this. She steals money from guests and fibs about rates and fibs to corprate to try to cover her bum. I am now trying to get in touch with HER boss, Roberta Harris. So unless you want to be ripped off and have your money stolen from you, do not stay here!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Piscataway, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Kcas12 - We apologize for the customer service issues you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience they caused you and your husband. Please contact our guest relations department so we will have a record of your experience to better address these issues and improve your experience with us in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during a long dog show weekend. Obviously they allow dogs. The rooms are recently remodeled in "Euro mod." The look is very clean. No carpet on the floor, just wood laminate which I liked better. Beds were comfortable but for how long I can't say--just a mattress on a platform. There is a TV, soap, plastic cups, ice bucket and thin towels, but no hair dryer or shampoo (although the office will give you a small bottle if you ask). We could hear walking above and the shower running to some degree but side-to-side the rooms were remarkably quiet considering all the dogs that were there. The maids do not give you enough linens for two people; every day we had to ask for more which the office supplied. Office staff was very friendly and accomodating. There were incense sticks stuck in the connecting door which I didn't notice for 2 days; now I know why the room had a "smokey" smell although it was a non-smoking room. Did a previous guest leave it there or the maid? My biggest concern was that for a hotel that accepts dogs, there was only one trash can at the lobby door. More trash cans are needed on the property for poop bags. I hate to deposit them in such a public place; in fact, I walked over to the back of the Burger King's parking lot to dispose of mine.

Room Tip: If you have dogs, ask for the first floor--your door opens up to the outside instead of a hallway an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piscataway
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Edison
Red Roof Inn Edison
#8 of 15 in Edison
249 reviews
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 5 in South Plainfield
558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Garden Executive Hotel
Best Western The Garden Executiv...
#2 of 5 in South Plainfield
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - P...
#3 of 5 in South Plainfield
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Piscataway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Piscataway

Property: Motel 6 Piscataway
Address: 1012 Stelton Rd, Piscataway, NJ 08854-4308
Location: United States > New Jersey > Piscataway
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Piscataway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Piscataway 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 is located near many area attractions, including the Garden State Convention Center - 5 miles away, the Giants Stadium only 30 miles away and Six Flags Great Adventure - 32 miles away. WiFi available in all modern rooms for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Piscataway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Piscataway Hotel Piscataway
Motel Six Piscataway
Piscataway Motel Six
Piscataway Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing