We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just the basics” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Piscataway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Piscataway
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Piscataway
Seekonk, MA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just the basics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent two nights at the Motel 6 in Piscataway, NJ. Booked through Orbitz but found the same price at motel of $49.99, senior discount brought it to 44.95. Motel is well kept, staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are basic but do have cable TV. No other amenities such as kleanx, shampoo, hair dryer, Room was very clean. Close (walking distance - half mile) to many food places and restaurants. Highly recommend if you just want the basics at a great price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macfudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    20
    8
    17
See reviews for
20
18
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel was great for what it is supposed to be. A cheap, clean, comfortable room for the night. Don't expect anything fancy and you won't be disappointed. The staff was friendly, the room and bed was clean and this was the cheapest hotel I could find on my way to New York City. Plus there is a Dunkin' Donuts across the parking lot where you can find a quick breakfast and coffee.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jtrek72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

It's been decades since I have stayed in a Motel 6. Years ago, they were cheap, but cheerful, basic accommodation. I found this location cheerful and basic, but not so cheap. I found myself in the area just South of Newark Airport, needing a place to stay for one night. Usually, I book in advance, to guarantee the best rate, but I found myself in the area a day earlier than planned. There are several independent motels along US Route 1. Many advertise "prices from..." a very low rate. I stopped at one, intending to stay, but when I went to the desk, they quoted me a rate double the starting price. I had remembered passing a sign for a Ramada, along I 287, in Piscataway, which advertised a lower starting price than the one this independent was actually quoting. I figured, if I am going to pay that much, I might as well stay at a chain property, which would meet higher standards. I left and drove back to Piscataway. When I got off I 287, I saw there were several hotels in the area and followed a sign for the Motel 6, hoping for a cheaper price than the Ramada. The sign in front of the Motel 6 advertised "Wi Fi." Internet access is a must for me, so I was pleased.

When I checked in, again, I was quoted a higher price than the starting price, but it was only a little higher. I was tired and decided it was acceptable. Unlike the independent I stopped at, where the lobby looked like the motel was used by hookers, the Motel 6 look to meet a higher standard and been suitable for famlies. After paying, I asked if a password was needed to access the WiFi. The desk clerk said yes and I needed to pay for it. Gotcha! I realzed that the sign advertising "WiFi" didn't say "Free WiFi." I hate these kind of games, especially in this day and age, where I think WiFi access is a basic necessity, the way a phone and a TV in the room is. The charge was only an additional $2.50, for 24 hours, so I paid it, but I would rather be quoted the full price, including taxes and WiFi, as many properties quote including free WiFi. With the add ons, this Motel 6 was ending up not so cheap. I started wishing I had gone to the Ramada. Another gripe I have is that, if I hadn't asked if a password was necessary, the clerk at check-in would have let me go to my room, without selling me the WiFi access. I would have discovered that I couldn't access the internet, then would have had to come back to the front desk to arrange it. Not only would this be inconvenient, and thus annoying, but she was missing an opportunity to upsell me, which is bad business.

The room was clean and had the basic ammenities, but no shampoo was provided, which usually is at other chains. I can appreciate skimping on ammenities, if the price is very low. Here, I felt I was paying as much as I would at another property, but getting less for it. Also, the phone nad a notice saying I couldn't charge long distance calls to my room. Given the high number of area codes in the New York area, this was very inconvenient. When trying to arrange to meet a freind for lunch, the next day, I had to use my UK mobile, incurring expensive roaming charges, then ask my friend to call me back.

If you don't want to use the internet, don't want to call anybody, and don't want to wash your hair, this Motel 6 will provide you a clean, safe place to spend the night. However, I wouldn't stay there again, as I expect to be able to do all those things, especially when paying the amount I was paying.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I don't know if it's the excessive febreeze, the cheap carpet, or the diesel fumes from the nearby highway but the entire hotel smells unfortunately like a chinatown bus. I don't usually travel in style or complain much but at 8pm when I checked in the hallway was in desperate need of vacuuming and the whole hotel needed to be aired out. I opened my window to the freezing rain for about an hour just to dispel the odor. That said the room was neat and the front desk staff friendly and helpful. A cheap hotel, but even as such I would think they could do a little more to keep the public areas clean.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingjeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

It's your typical motel...smoky hallways, funny smelling rooms, dirty carpets...not the cleanest of motels. My colleague kept getting shocked when she turned the lights on/off (she said that there were sparks flying). However, if you're looking for a relatively cheap room for a night or two, it's adequate. Close by to a number of restaurants and stores (although if you do not have a car, you'll be wandering through dark parking lots- there are no sidewalks in this area). If If I were on a longer vacation, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poohmami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

I spent some time in this hotel and had a good rememberings about
Good located nearby shops like : Walmart etc.... and a bar & grill restaurant "Gabriel" who served good meals
i stayed in a room 177

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bisimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

I wasnt expecting the high standard i received from check-in till departure, especially for the price. VERY happy with the cleanliness of the room and bathroom, even the hallway. The staff was very friendly and efficient, which nowadays is almost non-existant. Also, graciously located directly next to a Dunkin Donuts for AM coffee & near a bunch of stores to waste time in between work things or to pick up any forgotten items. Cheap, fast internet access and surprisingly quiet for its busy location. Fantastic experience overall.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim_DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piscataway
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Edison
Red Roof Inn Edison
#6 of 15 in Edison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Somerset
Econo Lodge Somerset
#13 of 16 in Somerset
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 4 in South Plainfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Piscataway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Piscataway

Property: Motel 6 Piscataway
Address: 1012 Stelton Road, Piscataway, NJ 8854
Location: United States > New Jersey > Piscataway
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Piscataway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Piscataway 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 is located near many area attractions, including the Garden State Convention Center - 5 miles away, the Giants Stadium only 30 miles away and Six Flags Great Adventure - 32 miles away. WiFi available in all modern rooms for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Piscataway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Piscataway Hotel Piscataway
Motel Six Piscataway
Piscataway Motel 6
Piscataway Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing