We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, but basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Piscataway
Certificate of Excellence
Svärta
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable, but basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Hotel is a Suites-style hotel, catering mainly to business travellers staying for longer periods, although during my stay I noted several families taking advantage of it's reasonable prices too.

The hotel is situated at the intersection of two major thoroughfares and a car must be considered essential, since there is nothing within walking distance. The hotel has a large parking lot.

Rooms were fully equipped and clean, although a little basic. My room was a bit tired, with several dings and bits of minor damage. The hotel has no restaurant, although a 'grab and go' breakfast was offered each morning, consisting of excellent coffee, with apples, energy bars and instant DIY porridge. Clearly the hotel expects guest to mainly self-cater, probably not unreasonably. Dining out needs a car.

There was no in-room guidance to local dining places, supermarkets, cinemas etc so access to the internet or a GPS is useful to find these. However I found that the front-desk staff were also helpful and good at giving directions.

Free Wi-Fi was offered as standard, which was good, if a little slow. A faster Wi-Fi service was available at a $3 per day premium. A few TV channels were offered, but the range was fairly uninspiring and I pitied the families with small chidren staying there. There was a gym (a bit cramped, but fairly well equipped) and a small outdoor swimming pool. This was not attended and one could not swim alone, which means finding another guest who wants to swim with you (a bit limiting.....) However outside temperatures were too low for this to be an attraction during my stay anyway!

The single elevator was slow to arrive and travel and I quickly resorted to the stairs! I did not need to use the laundry facilities during my stay, but they appeared to be in good shape and offer everything one might need.

Staff were pleasant and helpful throughout my stay and gave a genuinely warm and welcoming 'family' feeling

In summary : A good value option for the long-term business traveller, provided that you have a car!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rouxbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    20
    5
    6
    11
See reviews for
27
11
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was a excellent and memorable stay at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University. Corner suites are large and sunny. A pool side look is really great. must stay it is certainly one of the best places to stay in the region. Hotel Staff is very co-operative and is always ready to help and provide super service. The hotel manager (Dauoda) & his team including Samantha are really very helpful.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny. A pool side look is really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank balraj a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you found the Manager, Daouda, and his staff so helpful and accommodating. We work hard at trying to provide a "Home away from Home" experience; I am so happy to hear we accomplished that with you!

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had an opportunity to stay at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University; I must stay it is certainly one of the best places to stay in the region.

Hotel Staff is very co-operative and is always ready to help and provide super service.
Dauoda (Dawood), The hotel manager & his team including Samantha, Emiliis, Jessica, Lauren, Cindy& Peter are simply Brilliant, Affable, Professional yet Courteous in nature. They always ensure a great level of service.

I've stayed here for couple of weeks in a row and I'd recommend this hotel to every fellow traveller.

Cheers!!
Jay D

Room Tip: Rooms with windows will surely offer great views & sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curious T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you were happy with the service you received and we exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great stay with 24X7 service and a really helpful staff all of them. I stayed here for more than 6 weeks and I never had any issues at all for anything. I highly recommend this hotel if one is looking for a real comfortable stay with great facilities. Awesome management..Cheers and I definitely look forward to another good period of stay at this Hotel in future once I am back..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Varun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed for about one and a half months and we are pleased with the service. The staff, Paul, Cindy, Jessica, Lauren, Samantha, Ramon, Juni, Peter, Emilis and John (sorry if we missed out some names) were always helpful, friendly and easy to contact. We had a kitchen sink problem and Paul attended to it immediately and efficiently. The grab and go breakfast was great and nutritious. Parking and accessibility to expressways, malls and town centres was easy and convenient. The Wifi worked well and the kitchen has a nice big fridge with sufficient cooking utensils and a sofa bed for our son. We would definitely stay at Extended Stay America Piscataway for our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you were happy with the service you received and we exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've stayed at many hotels over the past year being that I travel a lot for my new job and this Extended Stay was by far one of the better ones. I was blown away by how friendly the staff was and amazed how quickly they were able to get answers to any questions that I may have had. This was my first time staying at an Extended Stay, but it most certainly will not be my last.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked a 7 night stay at this hotel and checked out after 3 nights due to noisy, drunken guests, repeatedly waking me up. On the 3rd night of my stay, my next door neighbors decided to have a get together with their friends at 1:30 in the morning.
Furnishings aren't bad, but walls are paper thin and you can clearly hear your neighbor's voices, so you better hope you have quiet neighbors. Business travelers, avoid this hotel if you want a quiet, peaceful stay. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your stay. We want you to know that we are addressing the situations you have desribed. We would love to cater your needs in the future and give that " Home away from Home " expereince you did not recieve in your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piscataway
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
2.1 mi away
Radisson Piscataway
Radisson Piscataway
#3 of 4 in Piscataway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 4 in South Plainfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - P...
#2 of 4 in South Plainfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#2 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University

Property: Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University
Address: 410 South Randolphville Road, Piscataway, NJ 08854 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe Piscataway - Rutgers University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Piscataway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Piscataway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Piscataway - Rutgers University Hotel Piscataway
Extended Stay Piscataway
Piscataway Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing