We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper Thin Walls, Noisy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Piscataway
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paper Thin Walls, Noisy Hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked a 7 night stay at this hotel and checked out after 3 nights due to noisy, drunken guests, repeatedly waking me up. On the 3rd night of my stay, my next door neighbors decided to have a get together with their friends at 1:30 in the morning.
Furnishings aren't bad, but walls are paper thin and you can clearly hear your neighbor's voices, so you better hope you have quiet neighbors. Business travelers, avoid this hotel if you want a quiet, peaceful stay. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your stay. We want you to know that we are addressing the situations you have desribed. We would love to cater your needs in the future and give that " Home away from Home " expereince you did not recieve in your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    23
    8
    7
    13
See reviews for
30
13
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a total of four months and felt very satisfied with it.

Its a very nice hotel with supportive and caring staff, good equipments and clean&spatial rooms.

The kitchen in the room is convenient for use.

Great locations 5 minutes drive to supermarkets, great for family or long-term travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CISSY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very nice hotel; it is better than some of the other ext stays i have stayed, i think its is because it is converted from homestead studio suites. clean hotel; big rooms. One gripe i had was it did not have the option of late checkout most extended stay americas don't have it apparently. otherwise it was a very pleasant hotel. no restaurants nearby; need to drive 5 mins for the nearest restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AravindBabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you were happy with the service you received and we exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is an excellent location if you are looking for a quiet area and a nice hotel. The staff are very helpful and check in was quick and easy. The hotel has been refurbished and our room was clean and comfortable. Also, they do not charge for parking and have nice secure parking areas. I would highly recommend this hotel to other travelers, whether for long or short term stays!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The staff was excellent. I doubt it took a full minute to check me in, and most of that was explaining the internet (my fault, not the staff members). I had asked for a first floor room near the front, and that is exactly what they had ready for me. The room was very clean. It had been refurbished and was quite nice. The bathroom was the original 1970=80's, but the rest of the room was nice. I know renovating bathrooms is expensive, but to have a beautiful room and then an outdated bathroom is not consistnent.

I have stayed here before and would do so again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyBur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you were so happy with your accommodations and service! Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My second go around at this location and could not have been happier. Quiet, homey, contemporary, well laid out, not too big and simply simple. They do not charge for parking and I actually expected to find a good amount of charges on my bill, for 4 or 5 different faxes I had them send for me during my stay, and where all other hotel have billed me up to 3.00 a page and a buck a page thereafter, these guys did not charge me a penny. The staff just smiles and is so accommodating. I had to argue with the clerk in one of the last towns I stayed in that did not have an ESA just to get an extra towel for my head, but when I mentioned how cold I easily get, these guys offered me extra towels, blankets and hot tea!!! This place rocks!

Room Tip: Mid way down any wing. Away from elevators and away from heavy doors by the back parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you were happy with the service you received and we exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I LOVE staying at the extended stay americas! the room is neat and tidy, free wifi! the staff are very friendly and always with a smile, they will greet you in the hallway and seem to go the extra mile for the customer. very rare to find nowadays.

I must say few words about the Hotel Manager Douda also.He is such an excellent person, very co-operative, helped us in best ways during Sandy Hurricane. Highly impressed with his overall personality and attitude.

Other staffs are also good and will make you feel like home away from home.

Overall experience was excellent and I would highly recommend to my friends!

Room Tip: This is just like home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumar_Amit1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piscataway
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 5 in South Plainfield
557 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - P...
#3 of 5 in South Plainfield
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Somerset - Franklin
2.1 mi away
Radisson Piscataway
Radisson Piscataway
#2 of 4 in Piscataway
237 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University

Property: Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University
Address: 410 S Randolphville Rd, Piscataway, NJ 08854-4118 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe Piscataway - Rutgers University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Piscataway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Piscataway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Piscataway - Rutgers University Hotel Piscataway
Extended Stay Piscataway
Piscataway Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing