We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yippee !! Great Indian Food !!”
Review of Clove

Clove
Ranked #7 of 87 Restaurants in Phillipsburg
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yippee !! Great Indian Food !!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Like other reviewers have stated, Clove is great ! We have been here two times and will be returning for more. First time we got takeout and received generous portions nicely prepared and packaged in a take out bag. The second time was for the Wednesday buffet. Two people for $24 at a BYO is fine by me. Inside the restaurant is tastefully decorated and extremely clean.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bug512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really Excellent Indian Food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been eating at Indian restaurants for over three decades, all over the world, except sadly, India itself. That being said, I have had everything from the abysmal to the sublime. I would rate the food here as superb. You can really tell that the owner-chef cares deeply about making wonderful food for customers he really cares about.

We started with the Aloo Tikki Chaat as an appetizer - a wonderful surprise! Fantastic presentation with a "twist" for a very typical dish. We followed up with the Lamb Rogan Josh, which I have ordered from a number of area restaurants - this is by far the best. From presentation, to the incredibly balanced flavors (so savory!), and the generous portion of lamb meat - we were not disappointed! We always order Sag Paneer - we love the spinach and home-made Indian cheese - and this was by far the best version I have had in years.

We could taste that the food was made from incredibly fresh ingredients, and the was service not only friendly but downright familial. Most Indian restaurant have an overly "touristic" interior; this one is tasteful and pleasant. Not high style, but quite comfortable. It's obvious this is a family owned and operated establishment, but everyone is very professional and competent. A truly enjoyable experience. We will be back weekly - to get our fix!

Recommendation: depending on your tolerance for heat ("hot"-ness or capsaicin), I recommend the ordering "mild-plus" up to "medium-plus". The lower is good for those who prefer blander foods, the higher is for those who like a little kick. I prefer the higher, but this range will balance the "hot" with the other wonderful and complex flavors the varied spices used bring to Indian food generally, and to this restaurant's exceptional take on this cuisine, in particular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank archemie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wednesday Night Buffet”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you're new to Indian food, or just want to try something that you usually don't order, you can't beat the variety and value of the Wednesday Night Buffet for $12.00 a person which includes unlimited naan bread.
There are at least 8 different dishes, all freshly prepared, salads, and dessert.
Also it's a BYOB.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vinceplano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Finally, Warren cty gets good Indian food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Clean restaurant. Excellent tikka massala. Good, friendly service. We even took our toddler there once, but usually get take-out. I liked the vegetarian eggplant dish, even though they went heavy on the oil. They've given complimentary dessert. BYOB is nice. Will go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank resortnewbie929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Have tried the lunch buffet thrice & not been disappointed. Consistently tasty, classic dishes (eg, saag, chicken tiki masala, tandoori chicken, etc but not the same dishes each time), on par with Manhattan's lower East side. Am still thinking of the coconut rice pudding I had 2 lunches ago, wishing I had the recipe. Service is warm & friendly, environment is clean & cozy. If you love Indian food & live or work nearby, Clove is a must-try!

Helpful?
Thank Runster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clove also viewed

 
Phillipsburg, NJ
 

Been to Clove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing