We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could not believe it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phillipsburg
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family and I were displaced due to hurricain Sandy. We have been staying at this hotel a few weeks now due to lack of other options. If it were not for us having small children, I would much rather sleep in my car than this hotel. None of them speak English well here if at all. The woman here that checks the rooms comes everyday after my kids eat, says the floor is disgusting, then calls DYFS on us. It is much more added stress than we need right now. I am not allowed to have a friend come say hi or visit past 10pm (because I may have a party in here with 4 young sleeping kids). We are not allowed to put bags of garbage outside our room. When I asked for a list of any other rules so we do not break them I was given attitude and told it's common sence. I am not sure how it is when I hear people running up and down the halls all hours of the night and everyone leaves their garbage outside their doors in the morning. I often walk down the hall and smell drugs and other smoke. I've seen cases of beer cans left out in front of people's doors in the mornings. It really is not a very good quality hotel. We were given a very small fridge that was very dirty. We had to ask several times for the fridge before they finally gave us one. The television in our room would not work but luckily we had our own and hooked it up. The internet goes out for days at a time and is very inconvenient since I do my college work online. Over-all I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chipmunk5369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 62 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent two nights here during Hurricane Sandy. The property looked like the grass had not been moved in at least two months. Lobby was not all that clean and run down. There was a machine for hot chocolate, but for a fee of $1.00. Was charged the entire four nights' reservation on my credit card, with assurance I would be refunded if we did not use all four nights. They did bring a mini fridge and microwave as requested; however, the fridge was much smaller than normal hotel models and was "icky" dirty as was the microwave. I wiped down the entire room surfaces with Handi-Wipes and we took the bedspreads off the beds; ended up not sleeping under the covers. On check-out, there was no power, so it was understandable they could not process my refund right then; however, two weeks passed and I had to call and "jump through hoops" to get them to process the credit. This place served its purpose for being a sturdy building through Hurricane Sandy but I certainly would NOT recommend it. It has a local reputation of being a "rent by the hour" place and it certainly lived up to that reputation. Much of the staff did not speak English very well, if at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TxYellowRose2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Worth the money of you need an overnight stay at a reasonably priced hotel. I stayed there back in the day when it was another brand with a bad reputation and its obvious the current management cares about what they are up to.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RespectIsEarned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was clean & comfortable. Was also quiet despite the huge double glass sliding doors.

Coffee was EXCELLENT !! Breakfast could have been better (cold cereal & toast). When I asked if fruit was available, Rakesh (great employee) said they used to provide fruit, but it spoiled before customers used it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ICJesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYARSH, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your comments. Management will try to provide a better breakfast in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I'm traveling across country with my dog and staying in hotels and this one was very good! the staff where very friendly and helpfull. , the rooms and the bathroom where very clean. It was near exit of interstate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

the real name of this hotel is the phillipsburg inn, aka welfare hotel, we were told this by the locals. we weren't expecting 5 stars, just a clean comfortable room for the night, what we got was false advertisement, filth and a headache! long story short, we checked in and ran, the front desk clerk actually ran after us, begging us to stay for freebies so we wouldn't tell anyone, she actually ran after us! do yourself a favor, stay at the comfort inn 5 miles up the road, clean, comfortable bed and breakfast is included. by the way, they advertise free breakfast at this place, you pay $1.00 for hot cocoa and stale cereal, we saw the breakfast display while we were checking into this disgusting place. i can go on and on, some places should just be torn down!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank worktovacation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My son and I stopped here on June 1st, 2012 for a one night stay. The interior is basic and the decor is a bit tired. but beds were good and the place was clean. Despite many attempts I never managed to connect to the wireless. Breakfast basically non-existent. I could stay there again, but you get what you pay for here.

Room Tip: Away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odraccir_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phillipsburg
6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Easton
140 reviews
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Easton
Days Inn Easton
#7 of 7 in Easton
349 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Easton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The View Inn & Suites
The View Inn & Suites
#14 of 14 in Bethlehem
270 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Easton
Hampton Inn Easton
#1 of 7 in Easton
613 reviews
12 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#1 of 2 in Clinton
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1311 Route 22 West, Route 22 & I-78, Phillipsburg, NJ 08865 (Formerly Phillipsburg Inn)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Phillipsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phillipsburg
Price Range: $84 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Phillipsburg conveniently located off of I-78 and Highway 22 three miles southeast of Shappell Park. Just 30 minutes from the Pocono Mountains, and midway between Philadelphia and New York City, Phillipsburg is an historic town full of family activity. We invite our guests to enjoy our free daily light continental breakfast with cereal, juice, and coffee. Stay connected with free wireless Internet access in our common areas and guest rooms. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including cable TV, desk with lamp, free local calls, and wake-up service. Children age 11 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Cats and dogs are allowed for nightly charge. Phillipsburg is located within a short drive to many attractions including Market Street Emporium, Eddie's Drive-In, Toot's Tavern, Crayola Factory Discovery Center, National Canal Museum, Kirby Sports Center, Lafayette College, Volendam Windmill Museum, and Desales University. The city's annual festival includes Delaware River Railroad Excursion held during May. It is among the last steam locomotives built in the entire world! Enjoy a tasty meal at one of the local restaurants such as Friendly's, Fresh Tortillas Grill, or La Bella Via. At Americas Best Value Inn Phillipsburg, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillipsburg Hotel Phillipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing