We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served Its Purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phillipsburg
Bloomsbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Served Its Purpose”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent two nights here during Hurricane Sandy. The property looked like the grass had not been moved in at least two months. Lobby was not all that clean and run down. There was a machine for hot chocolate, but for a fee of $1.00. Was charged the entire four nights' reservation on my credit card, with assurance I would be refunded if we did not use all four nights. They did bring a mini fridge and microwave as requested; however, the fridge was much smaller than normal hotel models and was "icky" dirty as was the microwave. I wiped down the entire room surfaces with Handi-Wipes and we took the bedspreads off the beds; ended up not sleeping under the covers. On check-out, there was no power, so it was understandable they could not process my refund right then; however, two weeks passed and I had to call and "jump through hoops" to get them to process the credit. This place served its purpose for being a sturdy building through Hurricane Sandy but I certainly would NOT recommend it. It has a local reputation of being a "rent by the hour" place and it certainly lived up to that reputation. Much of the staff did not speak English very well, if at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TxYellowRose2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    10
    12
    19
See reviews for
19
10
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Worth the money of you need an overnight stay at a reasonably priced hotel. I stayed there back in the day when it was another brand with a bad reputation and its obvious the current management cares about what they are up to.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RespectIsEarned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was clean & comfortable. Was also quiet despite the huge double glass sliding doors.

Coffee was EXCELLENT !! Breakfast could have been better (cold cereal & toast). When I asked if fruit was available, Rakesh (great employee) said they used to provide fruit, but it spoiled before customers used it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICJesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYARSH, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for the review. We appreciate your comments. Management will try to provide a better breakfast in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I'm traveling across country with my dog and staying in hotels and this one was very good! the staff where very friendly and helpfull. , the rooms and the bathroom where very clean. It was near exit of interstate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

the real name of this hotel is the phillipsburg inn, aka welfare hotel, we were told this by the locals. we weren't expecting 5 stars, just a clean comfortable room for the night, what we got was false advertisement, filth and a headache! long story short, we checked in and ran, the front desk clerk actually ran after us, begging us to stay for freebies so we wouldn't tell anyone, she actually ran after us! do yourself a favor, stay at the comfort inn 5 miles up the road, clean, comfortable bed and breakfast is included. by the way, they advertise free breakfast at this place, you pay $1.00 for hot cocoa and stale cereal, we saw the breakfast display while we were checking into this disgusting place. i can go on and on, some places should just be torn down!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worktovacation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phillipsburg hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My son and I stopped here on June 1st, 2012 for a one night stay. The interior is basic and the decor is a bit tired. but beds were good and the place was clean. Despite many attempts I never managed to connect to the wireless. Breakfast basically non-existent. I could stay there again, but you get what you pay for here.

Room Tip: Away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odraccir_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

They claim free internet, !butt unless you sit by the desk,you don;t have a chance!!!! Really enjoyed the mold and dirty environment.I rented 2 rooms for a wedding and both rooms did not have working air conditioners. Had to sleep with door open. Thant god we were on the second floor!!. When we were leaving staff was EXTREAMELY rude told us told us to leave!!! checkout time was 12 pm on the door . Was told new owner changed the rules, without nottification. DO NOT STAY HERE.THEY SUCK!!!!!!

Room Tip: do not stay here, you would be better off sleeping in you car!!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phillipsburg
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Easton
Days Inn Easton
#7 of 7 in Easton
285 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Easton
Hampton Inn Easton
#1 of 7 in Easton
554 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Easton
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
4.1 mi away
The Lafayette Inn
The Lafayette Inn
#2 of 7 in Easton
152 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Easton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1311 Route 22 West, Route 22 & I-78, Phillipsburg, NJ 08865 (Formerly Phillipsburg Inn)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Phillipsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phillipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Phillipsburg conveniently located off of I-78 and Highway 22 three miles southeast of Shappell Park. Just 30 minutes from the Pocono Mountains, and midway between Philadelphia and New York City, Phillipsburg is an historic town full of family activity. We invite our guests to enjoy our free daily light continental breakfast with cereal, juice, and coffee. Stay connected with free wireless Internet access in our common areas and guest rooms. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including cable TV, desk with lamp, free local calls, and wake-up service. Children age 11 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Cats and dogs are allowed for nightly charge. Phillipsburg is located within a short drive to many attractions including Market Street Emporium, Eddie's Drive-In, Toot's Tavern, Crayola Factory Discovery Center, National Canal Museum, Kirby Sports Center, Lafayette College, Volendam Windmill Museum, and Desales University. The city's annual festival includes Delaware River Railroad Excursion held during May. It is among the last steam locomotives built in the entire world! Enjoy a tasty meal at one of the local restaurants such as Friendly's, Fresh Tortillas Grill, or La Bella Via. At Americas Best Value Inn Phillipsburg, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillipsburg Hotel Phillipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing