We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relief when we walked through the door. Great room & nice people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pennsville
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pennsville
Certificate of Excellence
Moyock, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A relief when we walked through the door. Great room & nice people.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Made our reservations while on the road. Kris at the front desk was great. Room felt so good, it was CLEAN, well planned out and so comfortable. The lobby is well designed too. Breakfast was good and convenient. Best hotel of the vacation. From now on Hampton Inns are our go to hotels.

Room Tip: We had a room on the expressway side and noise was no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank searlwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa N, Social Media Manager at Hampton Inn Pennsville, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Pennsville! I will be glad to give Kris, our front desk agent, your kudos. I'm happy you enjoyed your comfy guestroom and our new lobby design! We're so pleased to be noted as the best hotel of your vacation, it makes us very happy that we made you happy. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    122
    58
    21
    14
See reviews for
119
102
34
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloversville NY
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We checked in after a long day and after we checked in the girl who was at the desk gave us items for valentines day!! they had a bar with happy hour and some food..breakfast had many choices of things and they had bags to go..much more than some hotels do..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hootie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa N, Social Media Manager at Hampton Inn Pennsville, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello, and thank you for choosing to stay with your family at the Hampton Inn Pennsville! Your 5 star review means the world to us! We're so glad that you enjoyed your Valentine's goodies upon check in, the lobby bar with happy hour, and our large variety of breakfast items. We enjoy pleasing our guests, your feedback is a gift!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed many times at this hotel and have always left impressed. The front desk staff, specifically Kris and Brandi, are incredibly polite and helpful. Management is very approachable and you leave feeling as though they truly care if you enjoyed your stay. Due to allergies, the staff always ensures that my room is free from the standard down pillows and feathers. The rooms are well kept and spacious.

The bar staff (yes, they have a bar) is very friendly and accommodating as well, though I must say the new lobby/ bar layout has me a bit confused. The single TV is the lobby area is tucked into a corner which allows it to be viewed by a very limited number of patrons and directly across from a window which shows a large glare if you're trying to watch at breakfast. Maybe I just don't like change, but I definitely preferred the previous setup. It seemed to make more sense.

This layout change, however is definitely not enough to keep me from coming back. As a frequent traveler (70+ hotel stays/yr) I can honestly say that this staff is by far the most personable and helpful out of any I've stayed at.

As for the reviews which have issues with the surrounding area - that's all there is. The hotel makes it bearable. At least you are close to something. The Holiday Inn requires a drive to anything besides a travel plaza. Unfortunately if you're staying for nightlife and dining, I recommend crossing the bridge and staying in Wilmington. If you are staying for business or if you don't mind driving 15 minutes for something besides Applebee's, Cracker Barrel, Subway, Dunkin Donuts or McDonalds (all literally in the Hampton parking Lot) than you won't find a better hotel in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnPV, Social Media Manager at Hampton Inn Pennsville, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for continually staying with us at the Hampton Inn Pennsville! It is our pleasure to make you feel at home when you're on the road, and if that means making your bed with hypo-allergenic sheets...then we're on it! We do care if you have a great stay with us because the best feedback we can get is from our guests.

Thanks for noting our great bar staff and our new perfect mix lobby area. I understand that the new layout can be confusing, but we are embracing the change to be a little more modern. We're happy that the new lobby layout won't deter you from staying with us again, we'd miss you! Thank you again for your continued business and your great review of the Hampton Inn Pennsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Truly overpriced for the area. Not nearly as nice as the other Hampton Inns. Clean rooms though. Housekeepping staff was wonderful. Most of the front desk staff was nice as well, actually all but one. NOTHING to eat in the area. Local restaurants consist of Appleby's, Crackel Barrel and McDonalds and there's DiPalo's - but expect to spend $45+ for dinner for one WITHOUT cocktails.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigFabricLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnPV, Social Media Manager at Hampton Inn Pennsville, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewig your stay at the Hampton Inn Pennsville. We appreicate your feedback. I am sorry that you felt our Hampton Inn is over priced for the Pennsville area, but am I glad that your recieved great service at our hotel with a friendly housekeeping staff and pleasent front desk agents. Safe travels! - Hampton Inn Pennsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently stayed at this property for 10 nights while in New Jersey for my aunt's funeral. I spoke with the receptionist on two different occasions about adjusting my rate since I had extended my stay several days and was told twice my rate for each night would be reduced to $99 per night. I therefore said I would be willing to stay at that rate for my entire trip only to find out after several days that the manager had refused this and I would be charged the full amount. I do not appreciate this after being reassured twice that the rate was lowered. I have two to three more upcoming 10 day trips to New Jersey and will look for a hotel that will honor their rates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VM1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnPV, Social Media Manager at Hampton Inn Pennsville, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you were visiting under unfortante cricumtances. Our front desk agents are not permitted to negotiate pricing. We we will gladly refund you the $10 per night due to this misunderstanding. Please call the hotel at 856-351-1700 and ask for the General Manager. We hope to make this situation right so that we may exceed your expectations in the future. - Jeff Denbo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights on January 9 and 10 because we had to attend a family funeral in the area. When we made the reservation we were not told about the construction, but we could deal with that. What was infuriating (and what brought my elderly mother to tears) was that the manager (who seemed to absent from the premises for countless hours) could not extend our check out time on the day of the funeral for even two hours. Any other hotel I have stayed at does that as a courtesy. Any despite the fact that my cousin was told by the front desk that they would drop his rate by $10 a night because of his extended stay, the manager refused to honor the request. Get a new manager!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casualtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa N, Social Media Manager at Hampton Inn Pennsville, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello, I would like to apologize for your unsatisfactory experience at our hotel during this tough family time. Please contact the hotel and ask for our General Manager, Jeff Denbo. He will be more than happy to discuss these issues with you and make the situation right. Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Work has me stay in the Pennsville area 3 to 4 times a month and, if I can get a room, I will not stay anywhere else. The rooms are well kept and always clean and the lobby (complete with bar) are nice ammenities, however the staff is what keeps me coming back. From the management down, service at this hotel is truly second to none. From check in to check out they work hard to provide a great experiance and exceed all expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFox484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnPV, Social Media Manager at Hampton Inn Pennsville, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your 5-star review of the Hampton Inn Pennsville! We happy to see you every month!
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and can't wait for you to experience our new perfect mix lobby! Thanks again for your review, we're happy that you feel like family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennsville
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Pennsville/Wilmington
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Carney's Point
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carneys Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
8.7 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pennsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pennsville

Property: Hampton Inn Pennsville
Address: 429 N Broadway, Pennsville, NJ 08070-1002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Pennsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pennsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pennsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pennsville is conveniently located a short drive from local attractions including Fort Mott State Park, Cowtown Rodeo and Delaware Race Track. in Pennsville, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & outdoor pool. Explore many Pennsville area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Pennsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pennsville-Wilmington Hotel Pennsville
Pennsville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing