We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but food no longer matches”

JG Cook's Riverview Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Pennsville
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location but food no longer matches”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was always a favorite dinner stop for overnight breaks on the East Coast Road Warrior Path. The menu changed this year and with the changes went most of the good food. The prime rib sandwich was always awesome, great soups and other entrees. The burgers are still good but the calamari is frozen out of as package and the size of popcorn shrimp. Indoor tables but an open air bar and outdoor dining overlooking the water - dynamite at sunset. Only open "in season" this is till a good place for a burger and a beer and to enjoy the view. It stops there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GringoDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Had a blast at a party there.”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Went to a party at the restaurant. The whole place was fantastic. Everything was much nicer than I had expected. Staff was quite friendly and prices were not bad. I only had a cheeseburger to eat but it was very good and reasonably priced. Will be going back to try a real dinner. No doubt in my mind it will be excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank threepercenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“All about the atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This place is right on the water. The salads are great and there are many to choose from. The service is great. There is often live music. They are closed on Tuesdays. Bummer. Our favorite thing about this place is the atmosphere. Open and breezy since the whole back wall of the bar area opens up to the water front dining patio. Perfect place for dinner and drinks on a summer night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4peltonpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carneys Point, NJ
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going backward fast”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife have been going to the "View" for the past 6 years and loved so much we were there at least once a week. In the past 2 years the staff (especially the bar crew) has changed from a very friendly joking bunch to a group who just pour and take your money. The glasses for mixed drinks are now PACKED tight with ice. The bartenders actually smash the ice into the glass now, something they never did before. As others have noted, the food portions and the menu itself have gotten much small,r not to mention the flavor, as opposed to the prices. We used to love going there now we're looking elsewhere. I hope Jeff Cook takes note and turns things around...soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Eater23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I have not been to the riverview inn for sometime. The food was just awful. My wife had the fish and I has king crab that was so dry it had no taste. If it were not for the butter I dipped it in it would have been unedable. Over priced and lacks class. On the plus side our waitress,. Donna was very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pgag3437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JG Cook's Riverview Inn also viewed

 

Been to JG Cook's Riverview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing