We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gotta Getta Montegrillo's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montegrillo Cucina Italiana

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Montegrillo Cucina Italiana
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Pennsauken
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gotta Getta Montegrillo's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I'm a Philly native who currently lives in Houston TX. My family & I recently went to visit my Mom & Dad in Pennsauken for a few days & Montegrillo's is a good as ever! I'm not a Pat's or Geno's guy, (I tend to like the smaller Pizza/Cheesesteak shops), so I was beyond happy that Montegrillo's hasn't changed! The last time I was up visiting was two years ago, & before that was FIVE years ago & this place ALWAYS HAS THE SAME GREAT FOOD! I got a cheesesteak w/ American cheese & fried onions & It was to die for!!!
I almost didn't get my cheesesteak "fix" on this trip, but I decided to NOT eat dinner w/ my family on Tuesday night. Instead, I walked to Montegrillo's, (my parents live around the corner off Gross Ave.), & got my sandwich! Glad I didn't miss out & you shouldn't as well!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great italian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We've been going to Montegrillo's for several years and always go back for the lasagna and the sausage and peppers. The meals come with soup or salad - the soup is in a bowl, not a cup, and the salad has wedges of cheese, some olives, peppers, onions, tomatoes, and lettuce with a bowl of dressing (everything is cut large enough so you can take out what you don't like). The entrees are huge - I eat a third and take the rest home for 2 more meals. The sausage and peppers are unlike any I have had anywhere - the sausage is sliced, the peppers, onions and tomatoes are fresh and it's made to order, as are all the entrees. The garlic bread looks like small slices of pizza, and are very good, and the rolls are also good. It has a pizza parlor decor with booths and tables. If you don't mind the lack of fancy ammenities, you should try it - the food is better than most upscale italian restaurants I have been to.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank curley207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Four greats -food, service, value ,and consistency”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have been eating there about every two weeks for a number of years. Although it is a pizza place its food is much better and less costly than several of Italian chain restaurants in the area. Entrees come with soup or salad and the soups especially the new cream of chicken are wonderful. Dinner also includes triangular shaped loaves of bread fresh from the oven. My wife has tried a number of entrees and liked them all. My favorite is the linguini and clams. I have never found a better variation of this dish anywhere. The decor is bare bones but who cares. We generally take a bottle of wine and leave with boxes with leftovers from the large portions.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ROOSTERFISH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian this side of the delaware”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Montegrillo's has the best chicken wings. They're crispy and delicious. The dinners are affordable and delicious. Great service, even better food. We order from there at least once a week.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good food, great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

It's a hidden treasure. I have eaten there many times, at least once a week. The chicken dinners are all good, I've tried them all. They cook pasta perfectly everytime, I really don't know how they do it.The pasta is never over cooked and that's important. Sometimes I order penne on the side with red sauce, or I get it with the sauce that comes with the chicken. You get soup or salad with your meal and all for a nice price. The servers are always friendly and pay attention, when you need something.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montegrillo Cucina Italiana also viewed

Pennsauken, NJ
Pennsauken, NJ
 

Been to Montegrillo Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing