We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bus trip with friends”
Review of The Brownstone

The Brownstone
Ranked #6 of 246 Restaurants in Paterson
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 14, 2019

We arrived early but were seated immediate. We were located in the front of the room by an open staircase and windows. It was very chilly and a cool draft existed. We all had to keep our coats on till the room filled up. We to”d the waiter it was uncomfortable but he didn’t do anything. We were there for a St. Patrick Day affair. The salad and rolls were served first, along with Irish soda bread. The bread crumbled in our hands. The salad needed more dressing. Next our pea soup was served. It was hot and subpar. Our meal was served family style and as delicious and hot. The iice cream shaped like a shamrock was creative and excellent. The music by my he cbgbs was outstanding. I will be back.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank barbwald56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 86 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2019

I came here for a charity dinner. I knew the reputation of the Brownstone and know people rave about the steaks and short ribs. However, I am not a meat eater and they were kind enough to make a broiled salmon. The piece I got was moist, but it didn't smell good. The pasta appetizer was excellent. The dessert was fried donuts and ice cream and I have to admit the ice cream was really good. The meat eaters at the table loved the filet mignon on bread.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

The venue is quite outdated, however the food is amazing! Over the last couple of years I have attended a wedding, tricky tray as well as a holiday party and the food never disappointed. However in my opinion they get very busy with multiple parties at a time and not enough attention to detail for each specific party. This past Saturday they had at least 5 events at once and it seemed to be a mess.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank stardusk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2018

Our group visited this place for the first time. We were there to see a show called "Merry Christmas, Baby". We were expecting a sort of Christmas musical review, but were treated to the Ace in the Hole band and a comedian. While it was not what we expected, it was decent entertainment.

The building was lovely, especially all decked out for the holidays. The room we were in was spacious and while tables were close together, there was enough room between tables so it didn't feel crowded.

The food was good. There was quite a bit of time after being seated - with the band entertaining - before the salad was brought out. Another length of time lapsed between the salad and a pasta dish. The wait for the main entrée left many of our crowd wondering if the pasta dish was our main entrée and dessert was next. We were thanked for our patience and were told there was a back-up in the kitchen, but the entire length of the meal was spread out over 2 hours' time.

We were told to ask our server for anything we needed; of our five tables with 3 different servers involved, only one table stated that there server seemed less than friendly about handling requests. For those people, we felt we had to give only an average review.

Because it was a new experience for our group, we will have a discussion at out next meeting about returning in the future. The band is apparently the regular entertainment, and since only a small portion of the music was yuletide related, we are not sure future shows wouldn't be familiar, having seen this one.

Overall, it was a good experience but not a great one.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jody O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2018

Was there yesterday to see an Italian Christmas Show featuring Ace in the Hole Band, Tommy Walker, Uncle Floyd And Angelo Buchelli. Show was great food was very good.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank lorraines396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brownstone also viewed

 

Been to The Brownstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing