We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Lunchtime”
Review of Ozkaradeniz

Ozkaradeniz
Ranked #35 of 246 Restaurants in Paterson
Cuisines: Turkish
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 15, 2015

We chose Ozkaradeniz (or Oz Karadeniz to find it on Google and other restaurant review sites). They have a facebook page but no web site (facebook.com/pages/Ozkaradeniz-Restaurant) and a 6 minute YouTube video: "Oz Karadeniz, Paterson, NJ - Sameer's Eats" (youtube.com/watch?v=8vwCDaUM9q8).

It was lunchtime and there was no lunch menu. We were hungry and since we've never had Turkish food so we ordered lots. We shared a bowl of the red lentil soup - delicious with a little kick. We ordered a Mix Special Pide (see photo) and the Chicken Kebob. The Pide had a surprise - a double yolk egg! Both we delicious and eat finished it all. We had planned to try both of the dessert but had no room so "forced" ourselves to have the Caramel Pudding. It was like a Carmem caramel and if it weren't such a arm and and we had been going straight home I would have order another "to go."

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sumware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

If you like pizza you must try Pide at this place
They make many different Pide
We tried ground meat Pide
Cheese and egg Pide
And potato Pide
The dough was great
Tasty crunchy and fresh
All is great at this place
Black Sea region traditional samples
If you are in area stop bye

1  Thank ugurkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This cozy, homey place serves authentic, wonderful Turkish food. "Ozkaradeniz" means "Real Black Sea" cuisine, and my wife, who is from that region of Turkey, confirms the name is appropriate. The staff is very nice, the food is fresh and the environment feels like a real Turkish small-town vibe. The low-key Turks lingering over their tea, the programs from Turkey playing on the TV above the door, and the photos on the wall showing the Black Sea area and various touristy parts of Turkey create the feeling of really being in Turkey. Best of all is the food -- the focus of the menu is pide and lahmahcun, but you can't go wrong. The lentil soup is fantastic. The piyaz salad is tasty. Everything is great. This is real homemade type Turkish food, some of the best I have had in the US. I recommend multiple trips to Paterson to try the many good Turkish and Arabic restaurants. Ozkaradeniz truly stands out among them. Please try this restaurant!

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FlySwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The place is small and cozy. The people are very friendly and the food is superb. I am surprised that it hasn't received more good reviews. They have Adana Kebab and all kinds of kebabs. Also they have a wide variety of soup and appetizers. I especially love their pides (sort of like a Turkish version for pizza). Everything is made fresh right before your eyes. It is family owned and operated. I totally recommend this place, sometimes smaller is better and this is the case here.

Date of visit: October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank aylin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ozkaradeniz also viewed

 

Been to Ozkaradeniz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing