We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen Better Days”
Review of Hilton Parsippany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Parsippany
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Parsippany
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 11, 2013

You know that song by Citizen King, Better Days? That pretty much describes this hotel.

While the bed is quite comfy (yay Hilton!) the rest of the place really has seen better days and needs work.

We were there for a business meeting using their rooms and found that the locks in the meeting room didn't work, so they had to take them open for us. One of the lights felt out of the ceiling - didn't hit anybody because (thankfully?) the electrical wires kept it attached but dangling.

And on the last day they shut off the water to the entire hotel so no bathrooms for us! That's like cruel and unusual punishment for a pregnant woman!

And what's worse, the hotel didn't do anything for our clients who were paying for the meeting such as extras or rebates for the shoddy quality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhanifen1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our property. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. The meeting room locks work as designed to protect the valuables of the attendees, so the doors lock when they are closed and need a key to open. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 893 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hello,

I had a bit of a quandary when I checked in at this hotel in regards to my credit card.
The front desk manager was very benevolent & remained calm throughout
the whole situation. First, he asked me relevant questions and suggested
a few viable options that made sense. Also, he made a plethora of phone calls
for me trying to rectify the problem. Needless to say, he took care of my issues and
left me as a very satisfied customers. Even more, the front desk manager provided me vouchers for appetizers that evening and vouchers for a free hot breakfast the following morning.
I wish I could remember his name, but he was awesome!!!

Thank you,
A very satisfied customer

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Arnie A
I am glad you were very satisied with your experience with Ayaz. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback with fellow travelers. Ayaz loves to solve problems and make sure our guests become fans. Hope to meet you the next time you are in Parsippany
Thanks
-J Galligan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on quite a few trips over the past year and it is of a very good standard. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are quite basic but are clean, and the wifi is good. There are 4 different places to get food ( excluding room service) ranging from the formal and pricey to the relaxed and cheaper - I have tried the restaurant, bar and room service for food and it was all excellent, although the restaurant was quite formal. It is about 40 min away from Newark airport and a shuttle bus runs to some local areas. I have never used the gym or the swimming pool but they look quite good and clean. My only gripe is a lack of a way to get a decent cup of coffee later in the day as the coffee bar shuts early in the morning and the coffee maker in the room is useless - but that is a very minor point.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Iain B,
Thanks for sharing the positive feedback from your trip. You'll be happy to know we are expanding our Starbucks hours to go later into the evening. Also, if you are a Diamond member of Hhonors with access to the executive lounge we have a "brewed to order" starbucks machine available 24/7, so join Honors and start earning points and benefits! We'd be happy to sign you up.
Safe travels
-J Galligan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A coach load of us arrived tired and hungry. We dismissed the restaurant as too expensive for us,some of our party did eat there and were disappointed that the food did not live up to its price. So to the bar where a limited choice was available. We waited up to 3 hours for a mediocre meal. The staff were run off their feet and had little time for us. A large function was taking place and the staff said they were taken by surprise. Why, we were all booked in advance?
There was loads of seating but when we sat down we were moved as they wanted to set up for breakfast. The bar was full and we then sat in the half lit Olive restaurant and were reluctantly served as they obviously wanted that cleared. We felt like trespassers.
Retiring for the night we were very disgruntled but the bedroom was lovely,clean and comfortable. Our comfort was short lived when we woke up to cold water.
The second night was much quieter for the staff but the food arriving was cold. They have to bring the food too far from the kitchen in the unused Olive restaurant to the bar area which was the only place they wanted us to sit! some of the staff seemed embarrassed by the service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Lorna B
Thank you for your feedback. We regret we were not able to provide you with the dining experience you all expected. We are constantly updating our menu offerings and your comments will help us improve in this area. However, we are working with our team to ensure that we provide a greater level of service in the future. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.
J Galligan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was extremely pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the professionalism of the staff. The lobby is elegant and spacious. Very comfortable beds. The restaurant and bar located on the main floor of the hotel are an added convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Pamela D,
Thank you for sharing your comments with other guests here at Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business, and hope to see you again in Parsippany soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We (family of four with two little kids) stayed at the Hilton Parsippany over Memorial Day weekend and were delighted with our experience. Hotel and rooms were beautiful, convenient, and clean -- a great value for the price. The indoor pool absolutely completed the experience for us -- it had been a grey, chilly day and we were not looking forward to being cooped up in a hotel room. The swimming pool turned out to be a great destination that made the hotel seem like a resort. Just a couple things made this less than perfect for us -- the pool ran out of towels at the end of the day (but front desk responded instantly with new towels, but we had to ask), there's no convenient bathroom near the pool, and one of the beds was a bit rundown, so it sloped toward which made for a restless night sleep for dad. We'll stay there again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimmer204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience with other travellers. I am glad we met your expectations, and that our indoor pool provided a great oasis on a very raining Memorial Day weekend. Our outdoor pool opens father's day so we hope you will consider coming back to join us for another stay then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was here on business, I was here a year ago & stayed at the Marriott(Great). This was not as close to my destination. The hotel has a nice, friendly staff. It is indeed old and could use some updates. The walk from the lobby to the elevators and rooms is bloody long! The room was clean. I felt safe at night ( important for women). I did have a few meals at their Olives restaurant-- very good. I did order room service one night and they were fast and the food was good. I had to order a car service. The hotel recommended one that was great!!! They called and he was there fast. If you need one , let them call this service. He will take you in a Mercedes!! The fare is settled upon upfront-- no hidden or extra fees, and they take charge cards.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drevossler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience. We are glad we met your expectations and in some ways exceeded them. As you know our campus like location is serene and quiet and provides a great feeling of safety. I will also pass your comments on to the car service provider. Hope to see you again next time business brings you to the Parsippany area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parsippany
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Parsippany
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
#6 of 16 in Parsippany
632 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parsippany/North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Parsippany
Hampton Inn Parsippany
#4 of 16 in Parsippany
695 reviews
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany-East
HYATT house Parsippany-East
#3 of 16 in Parsippany
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanover Marriott
Hanover Marriott
#2 of 6 in Whippany
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Parsippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Parsippany

Address: 1 Hilton Ct, Route 10, Parsippany, NJ 07054-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Parsippany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Parsippany
Price Range: $116 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Parsippany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We boast a great location on the New Jersey Mack-Cali business campus, in the heart of Morris County's Corporate Business Center. Make yourself at home in one of our Standard rooms, which exude modern luxury and classic sophistication. Here you will enjoy plush beds, a marble vanity in every bath, and expansive rooms. Cherry furniture with a contemporary accent, adds a warm feeling to the finest accommodations. Each room includes a large work desk, with two-line speakerphones, Hilton alarm clock with MP3 connector, and both wireless and wired high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Parsippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Parsippany Hotel Parsippany
Hampton Inn Parsippany
Parsippany Hampton Inn
Parsippany Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing