We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No hot water in mornings!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Parsippany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Parsippany
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Parsippany
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“No hot water in mornings!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel from July 25th to 28th (attending a conference). Not overly impressive but seemed OK at first look. I had asked for a fridge in my room (food allergies) and had confirmed two days before but it was not there when I arrived and had to call twice before one was brought up (almost 5 hours later). That in itself wasn't all terrible but the mold in the bathroom, the scaling paint AND the fact that we had no hot water for 2 morning kinda did it for me. Sorry, no good review from me here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chantal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We have identified the issue you mentioned with lack of hot water water which was a side effect of the hard water in Parsippany, we have implemented new processes to clear the calcification which improved the hot water delivery. I apologize for the delivery issue you mentioned with the refrigerator and the room issues. Since I can not identify your room number and would like to take corrective action please drop me an e-mail at ewrph_gm@hilton.com. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    204
    147
    100
    100
See reviews for
147
105
43
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Based on the reviews online, I was expecting the worst. The common area like the grounds and lobby were pleasing to the eyes. The hotel is dated, however my room was comfortable. During a long nightly shower, the water stopped for a few seconds but that was it. The accommodations in the concierge lounge were great. The attendant was the best – very friendly, and very very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihearttravelva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed our campus setting with green spaces and water features. I appreciate your comments about our Executive Floor lounge which is available 24/7- a great place to relax after a long day, and our breakfast and evening attendants are all about hospitality. We also traced the water issue reported to the hardness of the water in Parsippany causing lime build ups which can restrict flow. We have added additional treatment measures to improve the flow. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Parsippany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while attending a conference in the hotel. Overall, our experiences was pleasant - staff were quick to correct a room assignment mistake and were friendly and helpful. We were surprised that there were no recycling facilities or other attempts to "be green" (most hotels and inns that we have stayed in suggest that guests re-use towels to save energy, for example). We also found that there wasn't enough hot water in the morning so our showers were lukewarm. Will stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahM46172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and your recent stay. We do have a recylcing program for all our trash however it is not advertsised, it is managed by our sanitation company. We also do have a card in the room about terry recylcing, I aplogize if we missed placing it in your room. We are very concious about being "green" and over the past 18 months have reduced our carbon footprint by 15% with more programs underway. We have also identified the issue you mentioned with luke warm water which was a side effect of the hard water in Parsippany, we have implemented new processes to clear the calcification which improved the hot water delivery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, NY
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. My room's a/c worked poorly. There was no hot water in the morning. The A/C in the rest of the building wasn't working either. The hotel was HOT! Service at the restaurant was okay but it took too long to be seated. The beds are not comfortable. I reserved a pool side room that was oversold. They gave me a breakfast voucher instead. I am so glad I won't have to return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tas517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and stay during the very popular Supernatural event held in the ballroom. Without knowing your identity and room number I can not confirm your room type information or if you were with the convention which had a special rate on standard rooms. Due to the extreme weather conditions and number of attendees the air conditioning system struggled during the mid day hours and this effected the public space and tower rooms. We appreciate your feedback, and have made some changes in the system that we anticipate will improve its effectiveness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Parsippany hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a night, just needed a decent place to rest my head for the night and this place fit the bill. Room was clean and didnt have any issues while I was here. Would gladly come back if I was in the area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Boomstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Boomstar;
Thanks so much for your feedback and posting your review. I am glad you enjoyed our campus like setting with green areas and placid water features amidst a very suburban setting. I hope that while you were with us you had a chance to try the Ruth's Chris restaurant, in addition to our own Olive Dining Room and Splash Lounge. We look foward to welcoming you back to Parsippany again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The air didn't work and made our stay very uncomfortable. The water shut off for a few minutes. The service at the resturant was horrible.
The hotel offered no compensation. The maid Stevie was poor as well. They left potatoe chips in the floor and didn't vacuum. The pool was dirty and we can to skim it ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeFyrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback for your trip during the very popular Supernatural Convention which brought over 1000 guests to the convention in the ballroom. On that particular day with outside temperature of a 100 degrees plus 100 degrees humidty and the number of attendees our air conditioning did struggle to keep up for a time. In anticipation of the large crowds from the event we did offer a buffet for quick service, however with a dining room of 80 seats and 1000 attendees breaking at one time it was difficult to avoid lines and service delays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is the first time I've actually ever written a negative review on Trip Advisor. The Hilton Parsippany doesn't deserve to have the Hilton brand name. I stayed there two nights for business. My expectations for a hotel are reasonable. For a Hilton, I expect prompt service, a clean room, and a hotel that's kept reasonably up to date. Honestly, I'm not that fussy.

I'm a Hilton Honors member. My profile specifies a Non Smoking room. My issues:

Room #1: Clearly a smoking room in a smoke-filled corridor. I require a non-smoking room
Service #1: Call to clerk -- please call back in 10 minutes, we're really busy (at midnight)
Service #2: Took over 5 minutes to find me a new room
Room #2: Moved everything, only to discover the room was extremely musty smelling. At this point it was 1am so I gave up and slept fitfully in the room. In the morning I found out why -- the room did not have any hot water and the plumbing did not drain (sink or tub). My coworker was given a room in the same hallway with the same problems.
Room #3: Exasperated, I gave the morning clerk 5 minutes to make things right or I was going to check out. She was very accomodating, but the next room, on the "executive" floor was marginally better. If this is the best room they have to offer, I strongly recommend any other hotel in the Parsippany area.

My friend who frequently travels to Parsippany always stays at the Hilton 20 minutes away. No one from her company will stay here -- now I understand why.

Of the four of us who stayed at the hotel, not one of us had a satisfactory room. One could not use the keycard entry system to get into the room -- it took 45 minutes and a maintenance guy wiht a hard key to get him in (they never did give him a key card), one was put in a smoking room despite needing non-smoking, and one also had a room with no hot water.

Cheap, poorly maintained, and not worthy of Hilton standards. Disappointing to say the least.

The daytime staff was pleasant and accomodating, but I also watched them knowingly check 5 other people into the hallway of hotel rooms with no hot water, and I saw two of those people complaining at the front desk the following morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnightin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry G, General Manager at Hilton Parsippany, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear M Nightin
Thank you for providing your feedback via Trip Advisor. We did receive the e-survey you completed on 7/16 and our Guest Service Manager responded to your feedback yesterday. By brand standard we do have 3 smoking rooms in the entire 509 room complex, which were located on the floor of your first assignment. Unfortunatley in periods of high occupancy we can not avoid assigning guests to that corridor. I am sorry that it took over 15 minutes to reassign your room. In addition, we are in the process of re-keying our A wing building, as well as improving the hot water system in that building, again we apologize for the inconvenience it caused you and your collegues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parsippany
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Parsippany
Hampton Inn Parsippany
#4 of 16 in Parsippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Parsippany
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
#6 of 16 in Parsippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parsippany/North
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany-East
HYATT house Parsippany-East
#2 of 16 in Parsippany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanover Marriott
Hanover Marriott
#2 of 6 in Whippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Parsippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Parsippany

Property: Hilton Parsippany
Address: 1 Hilton Ct, Route 10, Parsippany, NJ 07054-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Parsippany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Parsippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Parsippany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We boast a great location on the New Jersey Mack-Cali business campus, in the heart of Morris County's Corporate Business Center. Make yourself at home in one of our Standard rooms, which exude modern luxury and classic sophistication. Here you will enjoy plush beds, a marble vanity in every bath, and expansive rooms. Cherry furniture with a contemporary accent, adds a warm feeling to the finest accommodations. Each room includes a large work desk, with two-line speakerphones, Hilton alarm clock with MP3 connector, and both wireless and wired high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Parsippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Parsippany Hotel Parsippany
Hampton Inn Parsippany
Parsippany Hampton Inn
Parsippany Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing