We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly adequate hotel, spacious rooms, good value, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house Parsippany-East
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Parsippany
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, Kent, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate hotel, spacious rooms, good value, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

The rooms were spacious, although the kitchen had obviously seen some action, there was the odd burn on the worktop etc.

Staff were excellent on the whole, calling my cell for deliveries when I was out and so on, taking deliveries for me when I wasn't available. Excellent.

Breakfast was adequate, varied, but uninspiring.

Overall an excellent hotel for what I paid and I had no complaints at all.

Well located (if you've a car) and the italian place next door (Annabella's?) was very good value for a much needed dinner on arrival.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disrupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSParsippanyManager, General Manager at HYATT house Parsippany-East, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to know you had a good experience and stay at Hotel Sierra. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
In hospitality,
Jeanne Foster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    105
    24
    16
    8
See reviews for
81
54
22
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

The rooms were nice! Breakfast was great... Service: Horrible! I booked this hotel for my guests who were out of town for my wedding. From the beginning it was a disaster. They gave my grandfather a key to a room where people were already staying. THey tried to give my room to someone else, and I had my rings, wedding certificates, and other important documents! It was very stressful for me on my wedding day. Also they did not hand out my gift bags to the guests. After when we thought tthe hotel drama was over. They charged my husband for his dad's room, charged his dad for other guests. It was a mess! Do not stay here!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcofsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSParsippanyManager, General Manager at HYATT house Parsippany-East, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Dear Valued Guest,
I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Hotel Sierra Parsippany. I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and appreciate your feedback. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.
Sincerely,
Jeanne Foster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

While they have the look and amenities of a Holiday Inn Express (I imagine that's what the hotel's business plan is looking for) and appeal to travelers like myself by offering 'flat screen TV's' and 'Free Starbucks Coffee', none of this makes up for tired, refurbished suites with older beds.

It seems besides the beds and bathrooms, everything else has been 'touched up' for that slick, posh, executive appearance that your website sends across, but upon arrival, it's just that, an appearance. The 'LCD' TV is a 23 inch model, and there's no LodgeNet or Video on Demand services. Comforter was clearly soiled, and glasses to mix a drink needed to be cleaned.

Being a very very frequent traveler, I expect normal cleanliness, then perks such as Starbucks coffee and a free breakfast as bonuses. It seems at Hotel Sierra Parsippany that Starbucks coffee and a lovely breakfast comes with no problem, but a clean, sound room are variables. High speed internet was so bottlenecked, pages took 2+ minutes to load at barely .07 kbps. Therefore, I'm not checking off that the hotel has high speed.

Things look almost like a Holiday Inn Express but slightly upgraded, but they're all just looks. Old firm bed. Bring Ambien.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linuxtech09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSParsippanyManager, General Manager at HYATT house Parsippany-East, responded to this review, April 22, 2009
Dear Valued Guest,
I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Hotel Sierra Parsippany. I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and appreciate your feedback. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.
Sincerely,
Jeanne Foster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

My wife and I wanted a weekend getaway and knowing the Parsippany area we decided to try this hotel. While the hotel was clean and the surroundings nice, we did have some issues. We did not agree that this was a luxury hotel at a modest price.

After our first night, we went out after breakfast and came back to find nothing had been done to our room. We called the desk and they said the maid should have been in for a "light touch." We said we needed more towels and they didn't get them to us for almost two hours.

The included breakfast as OK but lacked viariety and class. Only two cold cereals, no skim milk, two juices, limited bagels and muffins, no cut up fruit but whole bananas and apples.

There is only an outdoor pool. And we found that at certain times the hot water temperature was reduced. If you like a really hot shower, here you can only get it at certain times. Also, the heat-a/c only works when you are in the room, and it may take a few minutes to adjust back after you come in.

While we would not recommend this hotel, we would not say don't stay here. Luxury is not a few small bottles, it is hot water all the time, a nice breakfast, fresh towels everyday without asking and the temperature you want all the time.

  • Liked — Location near nice restaurants
  • Disliked — Lack of clean towels, poor comfort costrol, hot water not really hot all the time, limited breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KinerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

I booked my hotel through another company and it caused some problems and we were double charged by the hotel and then the company. Fortunately the manager of hotel sierra was exceptional and did everything in his power to make it right.
The hotel room was beautiful, clean and the food for breakfast and dinner was great!!
I highly recommend this hotel and even though we had some problems the hotel was wonderful and we will definitely be back.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgrl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

I have been traveling on business and this Hotel Sierra was my second stop during my trip. The staff is so nice and the service is impeccable. The hotel makes sure that they have provided everything you will need during your stay. My one bedroom suite had a full kitchen with a sink, full size fridge, microwave, and stove. Its a great place for anyone considering a few short days or extended stay on long projects. When a Hotel Sierra is available, I will be sure to book there.

  • Liked — The staff and comfortble beds
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JenWinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2008

We Will Be Back!!!
We stayed here by chance because our booked hotel - Days Inn, Parsipanny was rubbish.
We were on a tour of New England and the East Coast and had stayed in 6 other hotels: Marriot Courtyard, La Quinta and Springhill Suite by Marriot before Sierra Suite. Sierra Suite was the best place to stay with kids or without, especially with the provision of home comfort it provided!! The hotel smelled fresh and clean, just like the top-end ones. There were other complimentaries provided that we didn't get to use - evening Happy Hours for guest, basket ball court BBQ, etc.
The check in staff were very helpful, friendly and nice--Michael was outstanding. We will definitely stay at Sierra in which ever State they operate!!!
- The Abdul-Obitayo's, London, England

  • Liked — Home away from Home - there was even dishwasher in our room with a full size fridge
  • Disliked — N/A - everything you need was provided for.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Toxlaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parsippany
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parsippany/North
1.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
#3 of 16 in Parsippany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
#6 of 16 in Parsippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Parsippany
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Parsippany
2.2 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Parsippany-East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Parsippany-East

Property: HYATT house Parsippany-East
Address: 299 Smith Rd, Parsippany, NJ 07054-2803 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Parsippany)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Parsippany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Parsippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Parsippany-East 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsippany Hotel Sierra delivers a fresh take on modern day travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 140 smartly designed suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee, WI-FI throughout and an evening bistro boasting wine, beer and appetizers. Just 20 miles west of the Meadowlands and with easy access to Interstates 80 and 287, day trips to NYC are a snap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Parsippany-East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing