We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and jumpin'!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blackthorn Restaurant & Irish Pub
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New England
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fun and jumpin'!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We found this place when stopping on a trip and made a special detour to go back while coming home from New England this week. It is a cute Irish pub with many good beers on tap-they do a creditable job of half & half, black and tan and have a great selection of drinks-food is pub fare but also a good selection of bangers & mash, Shepherd's pie, steak and kidney pie and the like. My husband had the steak & kidney and was delighted to find the crust light and flaky- over a pie of tender steak and generous veg--and I chose a really fresh and delicious ahi tuna salad-large portion of seared ahi over greens and a tart/sweet dressing which hit the spot after a hot cheesy onion soup crock. Service is prompt and manager is attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANNE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    19
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hectic & Busy”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stopped here for dinner with my college age son. They had a Halloween party going on. Loud and busy. My son was pleased. Food was so so. I sent back the soup immediately and they credited my bill. The sliders were good, typical bar food. I wouldn't return for the food but my son would for the atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank faithlavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good overall service and good food”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Good atmosphere. Good service. The food is good to very good. Plenty of drink options. Pub atmosphere. TV's in the bar area are visible from almost all seats. Real Guiness draft.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mainesully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good for a gettogether at the bar”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Its a nice small happening place in Parsippany ... but its a typical bar and you can get pretty frustrated with the delay in service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Earn2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“service pretty lousy”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

we ate here on a saturday night - table of 12, got seated in the bar area, kids on one side, adults on the other - waitress was pretty rude, service was slow (we got their before it got too busy, it was plenty busy when we left). just getting our check took 25 minutes.

food was good, but service might keep me away.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank stuckinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackthorn Restaurant & Irish Pub also viewed

Parsippany, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 
Parsippany, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing