We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for a budget motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Parsippany
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Parsippany
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We were staying at my boyfriend's sister's house in NJ, and after she "lost" our dog (the dog was found, but spent the night in a shelter), realizing that we could not trust her, I did a google search for "dog friendly motel, new jersey", and this RR Inn was listed.

I used to travel for business, and RRI was not on my radar, never stayed at one before. The front desk was professional, we got a discount w/a AAA card, they did NOT charge extra for animals under 40 lbs., so I booked it. At that point, I didn't care if it was a "no-tell motel", I just wanted to be out of that house.

Many other motels/hotels I checked wanted from $50 to $175.00 non-refundable fee for even a small dog...while I understand
needing some kind of fee, we are on a budget and I decided to give RRI a try.

It was FINE!! Room #123, no smoking, was very clean, bedding was fine, mattress ok, (since we got NO sleep the night before, worried about how our dog was, we slept great at RRI). The area is sort of woodsy, which was nice - instead of miles of concrete. As far as the other guests, it looked like mostly families
or business people. Some trucks/buses, but very quiet, and it was a Saturday night.

They have a coffee service in the lobby, but we didn't use it. All we wanted was a clean, quiet and safe place - and that's what we got.

VERY positive experience for a very reasonable price, now that we know it is there we will stay there again, and I'd be willing to stay at other RRI's based on this experience.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 330 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2008

We stayed at this hotel last fall (09/2007) on our way to New Jersey and were very pleased. The location was great - we were taking a cruise from Bayonne, NJ to Bermuda the next afternoon. We paid around 70-80 for the night. The front desk staff were exceptionally nice - they even called into the room a few minutes after we checked in to make sure everything was alright. There were many places in the area to choose to eat from. We ate at the Longhorn steakhouse across the street (great Flo's filet!). Also, we noted a lot of guests were staying at this hotel in order to visit Manhattan. Apparently, it is only a 30 minute drive into Manhattan from this hotel (not bad if you want to save exorbitant NYC hotel costs).

The next day we make it to the cruise terminal fine. On the way back we stayed at another red roof inn - Secaucus, Meadowlands. This was also good. The area was safe (which was most important) and the hotel rooms were clean (but not as nice as the Parisipanny hotel). We were told there were easy bus routes into Manhattan from this hotel, but we used our Garmin and drove into Manhattan in 10 minutes (very easy). We went to the Met, had dinner, saw a play then returned to the hotel for the night. I would definitely recommend this hotel for which to see Manhattan with as many NYC hotels cost so much.

Anyhow, we chose these 2 places to stay after reading previous trip advisor reviews, so I thought I would add my experiences too.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tommy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2007

Stayed here one night to break up a long drive with two kids. The rates were slightly cheaper than other hotels in the area. It's not right off the highway, but it's close enough and easy to find. I've stayed in several Red Roof Inns, and this is comparable or slightly better than others I've stayed in. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and adequate, but no extra amenities.

Red Roof Inn does not offer a continental breakfast like similarly priced chains often do. (Econo Lodge, Best Western), so you will have to factor in time to get breakfast in the morning. We waited until we had a couple of hours of driving under our belt, but there are several restaurants near the motel, and it looks like a Perkins will soon be opening directly in front of the Inn.

The front desk person in the morning was excellent. I don't remember his name, but he had a southern accent - other hotel might do well to hire southerners for their public staff. He gave us great directions to where we were heading (several roads had been closed due to weather), offered my kids a snack, took care of some mail for us, and was generally very pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Librarian1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

Wow, where do I begin. First let me say that I travel quite a bit for pleasure and have stayed at various class hotels over the years so I don’t consider myself unrealistic when rating a hotel. I chose to stay at the Red Roof Inn in Parsippany because I was arriving late from a trip on a Sunday night and rather than drive an hour plus to get home I figured I’d stay at a hotel near work to catch a little extra sleep. The weather was horrible, we were in the middle of a snow/sleet/rain storm and the roads at 1:30 AM were not the greatest, but Red Roof’s entrance/parking lot were worse. I actually wasn’t sure if they were even open, but I’ll let this slide as it was 1:30 AM. Parsippany isn’t a bad town, but I suppose they’ve had some problems in the past because after hours business is conducted through a bullet proof glass window. Rather than offering me a room closer to the front desk I was offered a room in their other building. It’s possible rooms weren’t available, but based upon the number of cars in the parking lot I think something closer was available. After locating my room and gathering my stuff, I trudged through the snow and headed to my room. Upon opening my door my sensories were awakened – not from eye catching décor, but from the strong odor. It’s hard to explain what it smelled like – lack of air circulation? Mustiness? Uncleanliness? I don’t know, but whatever it was, it was strong. I could have loaded my stuff back into my car and headed back to the front desk, but it was late and quite frankly, I had a feeling every room was going to smell like my room.

It was somewhat obvious the room had been recently updated, but you could also tell the work had been done half assed. Paint specs and flecks of spackle were all over the room, not to mention debris. What kind of debris you ask? Electrical stuff – some pieces of wire and electrical wire caps were on the floor and furniture. I was actually afraid to look underneath the bed so I didn’t. Most of if not all of this could have been avoided with a good vacuuming. What I still am having trouble wrapping my brain around is when this décor update took place? It wasn’t just done, I’d say maybe a year or so ago, soooooo, why the mess on the floor and furniture? Have they never used a vacuum in the room?

Oh yes the bed or I should say beds were a bit odd – one was perfectly made (this wasn’t the problem) while the other one had its bedding folded down and was pulled away from the wall as if someone had been looking for something and never put it back. How was the mattress you ask? Ummmm, I feel like I need to be in traction right now. Normally I’m not one to complain about a bed, but not only was I concerned about bed bugs, when I sat down the mattress it sunk down, hence the need for a visit to a Chiropractor. Believe it or not the bathroom was clean, something I was rather surprised to see after witnessing the state of the main sleeping area.

I wish I could say that for $75/night this is what one should expect, but the fact is, that’s not right – I’ve stayed at cheaper accommodations and didn’t need to worry about where I stepped on the carpet. The rugs need to be vacuumed and something needs to be done about the odor.

No hair dryer, so if you plan on taking a chance at this motel you’ll need to bring one with you. For me, I’ll pass the next time I need to stay closer to work. There’s a Holiday Inn just down the road.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank NJdudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2006

i stayed at this red roof property on sept 20th 2006 while i was on business.I must tell you that Red Roof keeps on getting better and better. The room was large for what they call their smaller double bedded room. The beds are so comfortable you dont want to get out of it in the morning. As what seems standard for all Red Roof properties the room was immaculate, you could eat off the floors. The bathroom was small , but shower water pressure was excellent. Did not have much interaction with the staff, but they seemed friendly and helpful.
the location is convenient to business centers, shopping malls
and some pretty good restaurants. If you have never tried Red Roof inn and dont mind saving money!!!! give their brand a try

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank amishboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
South Orange, New Jersey
16
Reviewed October 16, 2002

This hotel/Inn is great. The customer services is superb and not to mention the rooms are newly renovated so you won't find any cracks or holes in this place.

Great plae!!!!!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofParsippany, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Parsippany, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parsippany
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Parsippany
Days Inn Parsippany
#11 of 16 in Parsippany
537 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parsippany/North
3.4 mi away
FairBridge Hotel & Conference Center East Hanover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
#2 of 16 in Parsippany
516 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Parsippany
Hampton Inn Parsippany
#4 of 16 in Parsippany
704 reviews
1.7 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany-East
HYATT house Parsippany-East
#3 of 16 in Parsippany
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Parsippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Parsippany

Address: 855 US Highway 46, Parsippany, NJ 07054-3405
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Parsippany
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Parsippany
Price Range: $70 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Parsippany 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi, spacious work areas in all rooms, free USA Today & coffee in lobby, complimentary parking, weekly rates available, 1 well behaved pet stays free, ADA accessible, iron/boards, restaurant and meeting space adjacent to hotel, knowledgeable caring staff. NEW YORK CITY is easily accessible via the Park & Ride at nearby large mall, nonstop buses leave every 30 minutes $15 R/T. Morristown, Meadowlands Sports Complex, Newark Airport, and 8 colleges all close-by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Parsippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Parsippany Hotel Parsippany
Parsippany Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing