We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific recent remodel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Parsippany
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Parsippany
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Terrific recent remodel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This Courtyard has been completely remodeled and updated since I was there a couple years ago. The rooms have completely new furnishings (carpets, drapes, desks, sofa, counters and sinks), and the lobby and hallways were also renovated. The bathroom counter area is very small, and typical of every older Courtyard in which I have stayed.

The remodel also resulted in removal of the traditional restaurant in favor of Courtyard's new Bistro offering. The Bistro is fine for lunch and dinner service, but gets overwhelmed at breakfast. On the Tuesday morning I was there, I experienced a line in which I counted approximately 12 parties waiting in line. Ironically, there is still a nice buffet area that they use for parties using their meeting rooms. Every morning I had to go back to the counter or ask the server for butter to put into my oatmeal, despite making the request when I placed my order. Self service breakfast buffets seem much more efficient for business travelers on a time schedule.

I also had a small service incident. My corporate room rate included breakfast. However, my bill for the last day was revised after check-out to include my breakfast charges from the Bistro. I called when I noticed the discrepancy, but am still waiting (over a month) for the promised refund of the charge to my credit card.

Room Tip: There is a short wing of the hotel that has rooms facing out towards the highway. I would make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah W, Manager at Courtyard Parsippany, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Jeff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled with the recent remodel and glad that our customers are enjoying the new rooms and public space. I have noted your comments about the breakfast wait time and am currently working with my management team to find a better solution to cut wait times in the mornings at the Bistro. As for your bill, I would love to help you to resolve this issue! If you could please call me at the hotel directly I would be happy to look into this for you immediately. Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    86
    37
    13
    12
See reviews for
43
38
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New York
Level Contributor
212 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Not terrible, not great. Pros...mostly clean public areas and room, reasonably comfortable bed, rooms face courtyard and that side is quiet, but Cons: very noisy on hallway end of room, sink is tiny, there was a small area of black mold in the shower, the old thru-the-wall a/c unit was very loud, the pool and workout areas are tiny. Lastly, most Marriotts offer Elite members a coupon for breakfast in the restaurant. Not so here.

Room Tip: If you are in room near the end of a hallway it may be quieter than the rooms where people are frequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IIbeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah W, Manager at Courtyard Parsippany, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. I'm glad you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel. We do offer scratch off tickets to all Elite members upon check in which award members a number of different prizes, one of which is complimentary breakfast. I hope we see you again next time you are in Parsippany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Every staff member I encountered was rude and very unwelcoming. There was only one person that was helpful, and that was a young man that was working one morning that I spoke with on the phone,but never actually got to meet. They need to hire more people like him. He was professional and looked into my questions without seeming annoyed or too busy unlike the three other people I spoke with while trying to plan my trip.

The first floor hall smelled like rotting fish the whole time I was there. The bathroom was moldy looking and needed a very deep cleaning. The public bathroom was not much better. The housekeepers had wine glasses just sitting in the hall on the floor which my husband nearly broke from tripping over them. There were crumbs on the couch in my room and the shower curtain was disgusting. The comfortable bed was literally the only good part of this place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DarlingDx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah W, Manager at Courtyard Parsippany, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Darling,

Thank you for your recent feedback. Guest saitsfaction is a top priority at our property and I apologize if your stay did not reflect that. Our property has just undergone a multimillion dollar renovation and we are always looking for ways to improve our service. We will be using the information that you have provided to make our hotel a better place to stay,

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a decent place to stay at however the rooms are not well cleaned and quite dusty. Pool is not clean at all so dud not bother swimming in there. Front desk very helpful especially Karen she was a kind and sweet. I don't understand why after breakfast time the coffee shop closes until evening and only coffee is served the entire day.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ayeshya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah W, Manager at Courtyard Parsippany, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback about our property. We can assure you that the pool is regularly cleaned and drained to ensure that it is safe for all of our guests to swim. Our Bistro is open for breakfast and dinner service each day with many local restaurants in the area that serve lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was what I would expect for a hotel stay. Although we were a (quite) late arrival and notified staff ahead of time, when we pulled in at nearly midnight the staff was just as kind and attentive as at a more normal hour. Lobby and rooms have recently been renovated and are quite clean (something I worry about as a traveler). We were simply staying for an overnight while driving home from vacation, so I cannot speak to amenities offered but I can say that we were quite pleased. Easy access to 287.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah W, Manager at Courtyard Parsippany, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the tme to review your stay at our hotel. I appreciate your kind words about our recent renovation and I hope you choose to stay with us the next time you are traveling in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our family of five from Ohio (2 adults & 3 teenagers) stayed for 2 nights during our vacation to visit New York City the first weekend in June 2014. The rooms were super nice, modern and very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and gave us great service. Except for having to pay a lot of $$ for our tasty made to order breakfast, we had a very nice experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSLJ1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah W, Manager at Courtyard Parsippany, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I'm so pleased to hear that you had a positive expeirence staying with us and I hope that you choose our property the next time your family comes to visit NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

They make staying in your room torture. No guide on the TV, internet barely works, I can't hook my computer up to the TV... Don't see a point in staying here. I must say though, the service was pretty good, but it doesn't make up for the room being unlivable for somebody living in the 21st century.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah W, Manager at Courtyard Parsippany, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We have recently upgraded our internet to provide faster Wi-Fi speeds to all guests. We have also updated our TV guides in our in-room information books to reflect the HD channels we currently offer. I am still attempting to find a fix to ensure guests can hook up an HDMI cable to the TV! Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parsippany hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Parsippany
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parsippany/North
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
#6 of 16 in Parsippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
#3 of 16 in Parsippany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Parsippany
2.3 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany-East
HYATT house Parsippany-East
#2 of 16 in Parsippany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Parsippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Parsippany

Property: Courtyard Parsippany
Address: 3769 US Highway 46, Parsippany, NJ 07054-1018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Parsippany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Parsippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Parsippany 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Parsippany, located in the heart of the Parsippany Business District and just 3 miles from many Fortune 500 companies, is ideal for business and corporate guests traveling to Parsippany, NJ. Guests can work or relax in our inviting, contemporary guest rooms with large work desks, ergonomic chairs, luxury bedding, 32" flat screen HDTVs, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - at our Parsippany hotel serves fresh, café-style meals in the morning and enticing dinner service with cocktails in the evening. The Market, open 24-hours, has a variety of snacks and beverages for on-the-go travelers. Our hotel in Parsippany, NJ boasts a fitness center, indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, three Parsippany meeting rooms, complimentary Internet access, state-of-the-art business center, interactive lobby, and more. Guests searching for top Parsippany hotels need look no further than the Courtyard Parsippany, NJ with modern amenities and thoughtful services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Parsippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Parsippany Hotel Parsippany
Parsippany Marriott
Parsippany Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing