We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most delicious Indian takeout in a while”
Review of Pakwaan

Pakwaan
Ranked #67 of 125 Restaurants in Parsippany
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: zip code 07054
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most delicious Indian takeout in a while”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

First time getting takeout from Pakwaan...this past Presidents' Day weekend, 2013. Tandoori Machhli (salmon). Asked them to make it spicy. Also requested free rice with it.

It was perfect. Very delicious. Really can't think of a better entree I've had. Will have to get it again during a future trip to north Jersey.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have been going to Pakwaan a for some time now, and really have found it too be hit or miss. Sometimes, the food is absolutely amazing. I will eat it and then order some more to go.

Other times I am unable to finish what I had in my place.

On its day, its great. I would say give it a shot... Its still better than alot of the other places nearby...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fahadmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
158 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A very good buffet”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I have eaten at this restaurant for the lunch buffet on several occasions and have always been very satisfied with the food. The buffet always has two meat dishes and three veg dishes, along with typical condiments and some sort of pakora. Naan is made as you place your order and refills are frequent. The food is quite spicy which we love, but more highly spiced than the average NJ person would like. All dishes were identified with name tags. I appreciate the fact that the food is never oversalty which is a chronic issue at many Indian restaurants.

The dining area is comfortable and spotlessly clean, the buffet area tidy and service attentive.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 973B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Just Ok - Menu great by names not by taste”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I went there to have a taste of North Indian Cuisine which is me and my wife's favourite, to celebrate our anniversary. We were quite dissapointed. No such complaints specifically. The Decor and amenities and staff were all decent.

But the Quality of Food, vis-a-vis the price didnt create an impression.

If you are longing for Indian Food like crazy and hadnt had the cuisine for years...then you might like it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Earn2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Better options for Indian food.”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Pakwaan is a relativly new Indian restaurant. However, there are other options in the region that ffer better Indian food than this place serves.
Their service is very good (when compared to other Indian restaurants).
Their food I found rather greasy, rice a bit overcooked, and their buffet choices to be a little lacking. I've tried this place a few times, and was underwhelmed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dwrrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pakwaan also viewed

Parsippany, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 
Parsippany, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 

Been to Pakwaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing