We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better options for Indian food.”
Review of Pakwaan

Pakwaan
Ranked #67 of 125 Restaurants in Parsippany
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: zip code 07054
new jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Better options for Indian food.”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Pakwaan is a relativly new Indian restaurant. However, there are other options in the region that ffer better Indian food than this place serves.
Their service is very good (when compared to other Indian restaurants).
Their food I found rather greasy, rice a bit overcooked, and their buffet choices to be a little lacking. I've tried this place a few times, and was underwhelmed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dwrrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Worth the search”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Located in a large shopping center, it wasn't easy to find. Free parking lot. We were seated immediately on a Friday night. Friendly attentive staff. Large number of choices on the menu. Three of us shared 3 starters and 3 entrees. Everyone enjoyed each dish. BYOB. Good value. We'd go back there.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonehomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good preparation,great taste and great service.”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Best restaurant in this area.great taste foods.super service.specially non vegs taste excellent.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S0niya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“hospitable service, great Buriyani.”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Pakwaan is a great place to enetertain guests or just go for good down home Indian food.
The restaurant is large and very clean and you can see the atention to detail in cleanliness and table settings.There is pride even in the napking folding.
Staff greeted us warmly and withing seconds a starter of papadam with 2 chutneys appeared, mint and tamarind - both sublimely good and not too spicy that you could not taste it's intricate flavorings.
A good buriyani is very hard to come by in an Indian restaurant , so very sceptically we decided on a mutton butiyani, lamb buriyani and a baighan bartha ( eggplant curry)
The meal was not quick to arrive, however when it did , the aroma was maddening.Both buriyanis were excellent, flavourful , just the right amount os spice and you could taste every one of the many ingredients that go lovingly into preparing a buriyani.
Portions were great , served elegently and teh buriyani came with Yoghurt raita and raw onion as is the traditional accompaniments.The mutton buriyani transported me back to times when my own grandmother had made a buriyani.
There was plenty of meat in the preparation. The Baighan bartha slightly oversalted but equally great tasting.Service was great, staff were attentive and we had a wonderful experience at Pakwaan. I would definitely be returning .
The buriyani was $14.95 and everything on the menu was reasonably priced.I was told there was a Buffett over the weekends for Under $ 14 per person. and a daily lunch buffet as well ( call for prices)
Entertaining here can be good too as the facility is clean airy and bathrooms pristine clean and well done.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hrhsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pakwaan also viewed

Parsippany, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 
Parsippany, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 
Parsippany, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 

Been to Pakwaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing