We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but the beds will cripple you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Ridge Marriott
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Park Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2010

As a typical Marriott, this hotel is a nice facility -- indoor pool, restaurant, bar, etc. etc. -- all the comforts and amenities that you have come to expect from the Marriott flagship brand.

I will never stay there again.

It's all over the bedding. The beds are so soft, when you lay down, you virtually disappear inside the fluffy mattress and down mattress cover. Now, if you like unusually soft beds, you're in the right place.

On the other hand, if you require any firmness whatsoever in your mattress for a good night's sleep, then welcome to mattress hell. My wife and I both woke up at 2am with aching backs, which lacked any sort of support on this pillow-type mattresses.

I spent the night on the sleeper sofa, which gave my back some support.

By the way, spoke to hotel management -- the mattresses are only three years old and according to them, many of the guests seem to prefer this style of firmness.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryGross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 410 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2010

My one night stay at this hotel was a-ok. It was quiet, comfortable, clean. The only negative was that there was no wi-fi available!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The service at this hotel, was beyond mediocre. After checkout my credit card was charged an additional $400.00. The manager of the hotel said that we were smoking in the room, basing this on smelling smoke in the hallway the previous day. Then when asked to see proof, she said she could just smell it, and had no tangible proof. This was by far the worst night of my life.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisColesMarriott, General Manager at Park Ridge Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for speaking with my assistant last night regarding your recent stay here at the Park Ridge Marriott. Your feedback is important to us and I appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your concerns.

In reference to the smoking charge, all Marriott International Properties have gone to a smoke free policy since April of 2008. There is a significant room recovery fee for guests who do not comply in order to cover the extensive cost for restoring the room to a smoke-free condition. However, in order to accommodate the needs of guests who smoke, we do offer special designated smoking areas outside the building.

The Park Ridge Marriott is committed to a smoke-free policy and as discussed, our fee is $250.00. I did investigate the matter and you were charged $250.00 due to the fact that there was evidence that there was smoking in the guest room. We do have in-room collateral that reflects our ongoing commitment to our smoke-free policy as well as on the key packets that you receive at check-in quoting the $250.00 fee.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel and for giving me the chance to respond back to your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Was booked to stay two nights - only stayed one. Standard room with fridge that looked like it had been thrown off the roof and then placed in the room, bed was too soft, noise from pool filter disturbed sleep, and breakfast buffet was stone cold even though we arrived as the restauant opened. Will not recommend or stay here again !

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank november2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisColesMarriott, General Manager at Park Ridge Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay here at the Park Ridge Marriott. I appreciate your comments and recognize the importance of your feedback in improving hotel operations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.

You can rest assured that I have reviewed your comments with the appropriate department heads in an effort to resolve these issues so that no other guest will be similarly inconvenienced.

We value your business and I do hope you will give us another chance so that we may have an opportunity to provide you with the type of service that one has come to know and expect from Marriott. Please contact me directly at (201) 307-0800, if I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future.

Thank you once again for posting this review and for giving me the opportunity to be able to respond back to your comments.

Chris Coles
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

This hotel was ok for a short stay - nothing fancy. I stayed for business and it was ok. They have a small area open 24 hours where you can get a snack or soda. The restaurant was not the best. Rooms were clean - standard Marriott layout.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fish11_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

stayed one night after a wedding. Staff is friendly, very helpful and accommodating. We were fortunate to stay on the 4th floor Concierge Level which included Concierge Lounge access for breakfast. The rooms were clean but small. It had a desk, king bed and a chair and ottoman. Surprisingly, it did NOT have a mini bar, small fridge, LCD TV, safe or a make-up mirror. Also, there was a small coffee pot for a single cup but no filters, coffee or tea bags for hot water. Fortunately, there was coffee and tea in the lounge.
We did not see a business center, and did not have time to use the indoor pool.
Platinum members received free wi-fi using their own laptop.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tranquillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

I stayed one night at this hotel with my husband while we were in town for a wedding. The bride and groom had picked it for their wedding hotel. We found the staff to be very friendly and accomodating. The room was nicely renovated and the bed was extremely comfortable. My favorite thing about this hotel was the pool, since the day we were there was very hot.

Cons: We had a room that faced the inside "courtyard" and restuarant. We were also near the elevator. The result: even with the light curatin on, I could still see people walking down the hall from the elevator and they, presumambly, could see me. This was an issue when we were changing for the pool.

The other problem with the "courtyard" facing room was light. We had the dark shades closed in the morning and it was pitch black. Even with those open it was still dark. I like a lot of light in the morning. My recommendation- ask for an outside facing room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salex19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Park Ridge
0.9 mi away
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
#1 of 1 in Woodcliff Lake
758 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Montvale
Courtyard Montvale
#1 of 1 in Montvale
261 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Pearl River
Hilton Pearl River
#1 of 1 in Pearl River
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
7.7 mi away
The Time Nyack
The Time Nyack
#1 of 3 in Nyack
788 reviews
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Ridge Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Ridge Marriott

Address: 300 Brae Boulevard, Park Ridge, NJ 07656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Park Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Park Ridge
Price Range: $159 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Ridge Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Park Ridge Marriott, a luxury hotel in Park Ridge, New Jersey, find relaxation in the hotel's laid-back yet elegant style. Our accommodations features pristine landscapes, spacious guest rooms, an on-site spa and premier dining at Brae's, as well as a perfect location in scenic Bergen County near Bergen Town Center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Ridge Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Ridge Marriott Hotel Park Ridge
Marriott Park Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing