We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta eat here!!!!”
Review of The Ridge Diner

The Ridge Diner
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Park Ridge
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Macon, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Gotta eat here!!!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This diner was on my GPS and the front desk staff at the nearby Woodcliffe Lake Hilton recommended it, mentioning that it was popular with James Gandolfini.

The line was out the door and growing by the minute, a very good sign. We elected to avoid the wait by sitting at the counter.

Our server was a typical Jersey Girl and treated us very well once she realized were from the South and not used to digesting a menu in 13 seconds flat. Loved her.

The food (breakfast items) could not have been better, terrific in all respects and was very reasonably priced. Wish this place was a lot closer that 978 miles from home

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mgriff41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    34
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Enormous portions, good food, low prices”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Enormous portions, good food, low prices undoubtedly accounts for the huge crowds at the Ridge Diner. What more could you ask for? You will definitely go home with a doggy bag. For under $15 you have a large selection of full dinners that include soup, all-you-can-eat salad bar, main course and dessert.

On the negative side, the food was clearly cooked in a rush. I had meat lasagna that was cold on the inside (not lukewarm, but refrigerator cold). My wife’s seafood fra diavolo was minus the diavolo. I suppose their concept of the dish is you sprinkle some cayenne pepper on top and they forgot the pepper.

The locals come back again and again, so it is worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank godolnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local diner”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I love diners for late food, this was a shock though. I ordered pork and they gave me lamb at least I think it was lamb, then they brough mechicken and they tried to tell me that a back was a breast. The night manager was past obnoxious, down right nasty

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Babbles8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab Sandwich and Fries!!!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I had a Turkey Club with Fries. Half the Sandwich came home with me. All was great, had a table with Maria she doesn't mess around gets you in and out and never waiting for anything. Great meal!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TimOLim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriman, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a great little dinner down the road from where I live. Customer service is friendly and fast, food is cooked to order and the prices are very reasonable. It's not surprising that the place is booming with customers every night. I will be visiting again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ToHrvatskaWithLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ridge Diner also viewed

 

Been to The Ridge Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing