We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oyster Heaven!!!!!!!”
Review of Legal Sea Foods

Legal Sea Foods
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 140 Restaurants in Paramus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: For all those who love seafood in Paramus, the world really can be your oyster. Choose from among the 40 varieties of fresh fish and shellfish we serve throughout the year. Come for the seafood and stay to shop. Our convenient restaurant location within the Garden State Plaza in Bergen County will get you hooked.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
404 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Oyster Heaven!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went to Legal for the oysters and nothing but the oysters:). We lucked out this night as they were plump and juicy Malpeques, what I consider to be the best oysters in the world, even rivaling Bluepoints. Add to that a New England Clam Chowder for the first round followed by a Lobster Bisque and I was stuffed to the gills. My friends had similar choices and we all were well pleased. I would opt for the clam chowder again over the lobster bisque and at half the price. The great thing is the 6 for 6 option they have. Not any other place I know can you get 6 oysters of Malpeque quality for a buck a piece. Way to go Legal Sea Foods. You have won my heart and stomach!! I will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdvisorOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    42
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still high quality seafood”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Have been eating at Legal Seafood restaurants since they were founded in Boston in the 70s. This particular one is not as good as the originals, but still quite good because they still use the same quality control system for selecting and processing their fish (stays cold during entire processing - the workers work heavily dressed in rooms with winter-like temperatures) We are a little jaded because the chowder is now sold at BJs and Costco, but it is still the same rich, comforting brew of clams, potatoes, and creamy stock. The fish is still cooked well, not overdone. Somewhat pricy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank looksatsmallthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen county, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“HEALTHY TASTY FISH”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The fish is very fresh and safe. The wait staff is friendly. I based my opinion on a number of Legal Seafoods where I have eaten. I really liked the one at Palisade Center, but it closed.

Helpful?
Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
553 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great service recovery!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I reunited after 6 months and decided to dine here.

I am familiar with the chain but never eaten in this particular place. Out waitress was very professional and suggested a few items for us. The manager came with compimentary appetizer from the chef. When our meal came, we started eating and my friend found a small hair on her ravioli. We called our waitress and she immediately apologized and took the plate away. The manager also came to the table and apologized. Also asked my friend wanted something else. My friend declined on tub plate but asked if she could get another glass of wine (implied for the inconvenience). As I was eating slowly waiting for my friends plate, her came over and this time was better.

The rest of the meal was great and our waitress and manger came over again to reassured everything was ok this time. We decided not to have dessert and asked for the check. When we looked at the check, we were charged for two glasses of her wine which we thought one f them was complimentary. We called our waitress again and we asked her if se could take the extra glass of wine. She complied and returned with the check.

As we paid and left. We realized that the restaurant actually took off the charge for my friends meal instead if the glass of wine. We were surprised and wanted to return to say thank you but the traffic was brutal ( as everybody knows how is Paramus).

We will absolutely come back as tey went above and beyond making my friend happy. Thank you!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
229 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have eaten here quite a few times and haven't been disappointed. The food is prepared fresh and the dinner rolls are fantastic. My wife has had the clam chowder a few times and says that it is one of the better one's out there. The restaurant feels a bit higher end and the menu prices reflect that. Since it is attached to a mall, parking is difficult especially in the evening and weekends. Overall

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8pixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legal Sea Foods also viewed

 

Been to Legal Sea Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing