We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great reliable food .”

On The Border Mexican Grill
Ranked #22 of 138 Restaurants in Paramus
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fairview, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great reliable food .”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This place is very affordable and reliable. The Avocado is always good (prepared tableside), and their top shelf margarita is to die for (get the one that is not frozen). Their appetizer sampler is big and affordable. I almost always get the "Ultimate Fajita" ( for about $15) and two people can eat from it; just ask for extra tortillas. Besides that, I like the street style beef tacos, chicken flautas and brownie a la mode for dessert. It does get kind of noisy but not in a way that would be inappropriate for children as the bar is separate from the main dinning room.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1993_NDuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
179 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good but Noisy!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The usual Mex/Amer fare with decent selection and prices. Wait staff is quite friendly. Margaritas are pretty good. It is just very noisy, to the point of shouting at your dinner partner! If you need quiet, this is not the place. It is fun, lively, and offers good food, though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank profjan06nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
229 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican Chain”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stop here every once in a while for a decent lunch. The food is your standard mexican chain food but the chips and salsa they bring to your table is the main draw for us. Tortillas are made to order and the staff is usually friendly and attentive. In the dozen or so times we've eaten here we've

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8pixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cheap...but bad quality”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice enough servers, but I ordered the quesadilla. Terrible quality chicken. Worse than tyson... like packaged strips you get from perdue or something for salads. Turned my stomach. Not good at all!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephanie649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
608 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Consistent food and friendly service.”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have been a few times to this restaurant. It is a chain, it is predictable, it is well executed. The chips were good and the salsa had a nice bite to it. Just the right spice for the non-chili head but with clean favorable zing for those with like to taste the Jalapeno.

The salads were okay and green. No more need be said.

The brisket tacos were meaty rich flavor but dry. The black beans are definitely one of their high points. I had the Texas Fajita trio, a trio that is what they think Texas is. It included very tender chicken, pulled pork and steak. Each was favorful, heavy on the salt and the steak was on the dry site. The refried beans and rice were okay and did not detract from the fajita.

Plenty of food, nice waiter, clean restauant.

You know what to expect and it delivers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing