We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent food and friendly service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of On The Border Mexican Grill

On The Border Mexican Grill
Ranked #17 of 137 Restaurants in Paramus
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
607 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Consistent food and friendly service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have been a few times to this restaurant. It is a chain, it is predictable, it is well executed. The chips were good and the salsa had a nice bite to it. Just the right spice for the non-chili head but with clean favorable zing for those with like to taste the Jalapeno.

The salads were okay and green. No more need be said.

The brisket tacos were meaty rich flavor but dry. The black beans are definitely one of their high points. I had the Texas Fajita trio, a trio that is what they think Texas is. It included very tender chicken, pulled pork and steak. Each was favorful, heavy on the salt and the steak was on the dry site. The refried beans and rice were okay and did not detract from the fajita.

Plenty of food, nice waiter, clean restauant.

You know what to expect and it delivers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“I just love it..!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great food, fair price, excellent service..!! I love all the people there but specially my favorite "ROBERTO" he is so sweet, he knows his job and offer to everybody a great service. I'm very happy to going there. And my favorite drink "MELON TWISTER" they don't have it on the menu but when I asked for it, they know which one I'm talking about..!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mecatona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It is very good for a chain restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I will be honest and say I haven't been there in a long while. When I did I was very pleased. Most Mexican style restaurants seem to disappoint me, this one didn't. The food, managment, servers, atmosphere and prices were all gratifying.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JezCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
245 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“needs better food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

food was ok, did not seem as fresh, food seemed too packaged

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank meworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent and reliable food from a chain restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We travel a lot and frequently look for "comfort food" from restaurants that we are familiar with. On the Border is always a safe bet and this outlet was not a disappointment. The food was high quality and promptly served in a fashion consistent with corporate standard. Our experience was enjoyable and met with our expectations. When on the road, one enjoys having something enjoyably predictable, and this was it. No frills but fun, safe, and tasty.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing