We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food slow service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra

Mantra
Reserve with OpenTable
Mantra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 137 Restaurants in Paramus
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Mantra Restaurant is a premier destination spot for modern Indian cuisine. We cater to pallets of individuals who are accustomed to Indian cuisine as well as those who want to indulge and enjoy the nuevo, rich and exciting flavors that Indian food has to offer. The relaxed lounge atmosphere is a perfect venue to meet socially or professionally. The dining area offers the ideal setting to enjoy meals with friends and family. We take pride in preparing food with the highest quality ingredients and our chefs turn out delicious and suckling choices. Dining out at Mantra offers a true fine dining experience for everyone. Besides our premier location in Paramus, we now have a second location open in downtown Jersey City (Exchange Place). Come visit and devour the excellence and judge for yourself. This is our “Mantra”.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went to this restaurant with a Groupon and the value was great with the coupon. Without the Groupon I think the tab gets very steap. It seems like they do not have enough waiters or they are just inatentive. the firsty half of the eperience went fine but we waited a long time after completing our main course to have the plates cleared. The leftovers were place on the table and we sat a long time befoire being offered desert. Then desert was delivered without silverware, then it took forever to get a check. Also we ordered some soda and it came in an on the rocks glass and was $2.50 per drink and they charged for a refill

The food was good but the service made the experience not what it should have been

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    31
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food nice brunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I used to come here with my friend and haven't been back an while cause she moved out of town and my other friends do not like Indian food. Their all you can eat brunch is so good and a great deal for the price, a hidden jewel in Paramus worth visiting .

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank migsfromnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
607 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Modern design but warm and rich flavors abound”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We went out for a mid-week meal to Mantra. It is on a busy highway and you need to keep you eye out for the entrance to the shopping mall where is holds a corner location.

The interior is very modern with polished woods and glass and mirrors galore.

We started with an appetizer of broiled scallops. The scallops were dusted with coriander and other spices and quicky pan seared. For two people, it is always awkward when an appetizer to be shared comes out with three pieces. We settle the matter amoung ourselves with no problem. The sea scallops were meaty and fresh and the dusting gave an pungent tang to the crust.

The main course was Kerala Fish Curry( Sea bass simmered with whole red chilli, curry leaves, coriander seeds & tamarind) and the Tandoori mixed grill. The Fish Curry was not but rich in spices. The bass was tender and flaky and infused with the curry sauce. The Tandoori Mixed grill was a nice combination of meats and was not over cooked as I have found at most tandoori places. The chicken pieces were moist and tasty but the lamb sausage was the best.

The portions are reasonable size and we decided to try two of their dessert. We waited twenty minutes and had to ask about the timing as it was a fried dough with syrup and a selection of ice creams. Neither is worth mentioning plus you can say 20 minutes as well.

The entries were enough to warrant return visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Haute Cuisine Indian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

What a gem! Excellent high quality, creative Indian cuisine. Try a Goan Martini too while you're at it. Great atmosphere too. Recommend the Rosemary Naan and truer several items from the specials menu. Cannot recommend highly enough!

Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaCapeCod_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Where is chef patel??? This is why we came here. Food has gone down hill, they should really bring him back

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodjunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mantra also viewed

 

Been to Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing