We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A walk back in time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireplace Restaurant

Fireplace Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 137 Restaurants in Paramus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving up breakfast, lunch, dinner and the best burgers in Bergen County since 1956!
Ridgewood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A walk back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a hard place to review for one reason. The attraction to the restaurant isn't it's fine food or beautiful decor. Rather, I love it because it makes me feel like I have been transported back to a time when chain restaurants didn't dot the landscape. From the 50s music in the background, to the photos on the walls that show that the Fireplace hasn't changed much over the decades, I just love the overall experience of eating there. Sitting with my family, I can't help but imagine how many other people had sat in the same exact spot with their families over the past half century (perhaps at the same tables, as they seem quite dated). The food is decent, though I have had better burgers and hot dogs elsewhere. Yet no place else can come close in regard to the nostalgia.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    37
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVE THE FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have eaten here since the late 1960's and the quality of the food and the atmosphere are till the same....Great! Even though I don't live in the area any more this is a must eat at location when I am in the area and haven't missed going there on any of my trips.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dug10367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
259 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“one of my favorite fast food burger places on the planet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

this place was a staple growing up. it's fast-food, let's not kid ourselves, but the burgers are really good. plus it's close to the malls in paramus and right off of 17 so a convenient location.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yankeebaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Standard Fayre, friendly people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Fireplace is right off of Route 17 North near Paramus Park mall, so is a convenient place to go for a quick bite that is not a mall food court.

The food is fresh, hot and it does what it says on the tin. The service is polite and efficient. It's reasonable value for to be expected food.

If you want a takeaway pizza in Paramus, this is a good place to get it - fresh pies, a nice tangy sauce and again that convenient location

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
224 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Been going here for 40+ years.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

One of the originals, a fast food style location with above average food. I used to cruise here with my friends on the weekends in the 60s. Over the years they added different areas to purchase food, chicken and pizza, but you could always get that better somewhere else.

t changed hands a few years ago and lost some of its quality and lustre, but their signature steak sandwich is still the greatest, and they still have the condiment bar out with large bowls of pickles and sliced onions. Price/value ratio has decreased over time. Never-the-less, I'll stop there on way through from a cross country trip into EWR.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank billq-newburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fireplace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fireplace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing