We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner, service slow”
Review of Chakra

Chakra
Reserve with OpenTable
Chakra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 140 Restaurants in Paramus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Arcadian Avenue
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner, service slow”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We met friends here for dinner, our first time eating there. It's a beautifully decorated dining room and to my surprise reasonably quiet to allow dinner conversation in a normal voice. Our wait staff was slow procuring the drinks as well as our dessert coffees. That aside, the food is excellent, well prepared and delicious. The desserts were average. It is a little pricey for what they provide. I would go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    53
    17
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So far minus one star --- MANAGER IS EXTREMELY RUDE”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Yesterday I called to get some information about the place, i.e. DJ on Fridays? Saturdays? If there is any dancing? The manager on the phone was extremely rude!! Then today I called, asked for a reservation (not sure why I am insisting on this!) the manager said he had a reservation for 8:15 then changed his mind, to 8:30. Then told me I had to provide a credit card, I provided the info and he could not type at all I had to give the number to him 4 times, one number at a time and still he couldn't type !! Duhhh. Wanna charge like NYC? Provide the same customer service as NYC!! Hello Owners of Chakra can't you see your managers are not top of the line (read the reviews here on trip advisor!) - Let's see what happens tonight!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slumberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely decor, SLOW service”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit; referred by friends for the great food. My son had the lobster "crab cake" appetizer special which he reports was heavenly. Chilean Sea Bass - perfection. Petit filet - wonderful. I would go again but the restaurant was not crowded on a Wednesday night and there seemed to be plenty of staff, so I don't know why it took an hour to get appetizers alone

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KatMom419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
“Amazing food! Vinnie have outstanding service! Very romantic!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I came to chakra all of the way from Brick, Nj last night based upon amazing word of mouth. We were pleasantly greeted as we walked through the door and our server was Vinnie. He was absolutely wonderful and a pleasure to have. He made sure that we were taken care of the entire time, answered every question I had and gave me the best recommendations since I'm so indecisive when it comes to ordering food especially while pregnant. The food was the best quality I have ever had. We had such an amazing experience and we will definitely be back. The atmosphere was dim with candle light all around. It was very romantic. I couldn't have asked for anything more! Ask for Vinnie to receive incredible service. :) This restaurant deserves more the 5 stars. Thank you for a great time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellamamiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not all that great!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

If you want to charge $89 per couple for a Valentine's Dinner..........you better had make it delicious. The salad was tasty, the lobster cake was good, but the filet was ordered medium rare & it was burned & over cooked. We did not want a round of free drinks, we wanted our dinners cooked the way they should have been. The lobster tail? Come on, it was so small, it was a sin to even serve such a small piece of lobster. Not for anything, we even had to ask for bread! The best part of our dining experience were our drinks. When I brought the matter to the managers attention, he shrugged his shoulders as if to say, OH WELL. The dessert was okay.

We will not be going back anytime soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chakra also viewed

 

Been to Chakra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing