We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great mall, lots to see!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westfield Garden State Plaza

Westfield Garden State Plaza
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Paramus
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great mall, lots to see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Really nice mall with lots of great stores. We had stopped by the Shops at Riverside first to have dinner, and walked around that mall first....total waste of time. That mall was awful and we quickly left and headed over to the Garden State Plaza. Lots to see and plenty of great stores and restaurants.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Franco_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    71
    27
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Plentiful space and stores to choose from!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is one of my favorites malls in the area! It is pretty spacious, offering a lot of stores to shop from. You will have to get there early if you want to park close to it, but I personally don't mind parking a bit far and walk. Only downside is that they are closed on Sundays, but it's because of local laws.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
790 reviews
387 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,320 helpful votes
“Always crowded, too hard to find a parking space”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stopped here the other day because we were looking for a certain store that we could not find elsewhere in NJ, After driving around for about 20 minutes, we finally found a parking space. It was so bad that people were even stopping on the shoulder of Route 4 and dropping people off. Its a great mall, but its too much of a hassle to find a parking space and we will go elsewhere in the future.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bwco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Mall with different shops to 5th Avenue - bus trip from Manhattan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We travelled to Manhattan from Australia and were looking for something different to do. We didnt want to go to Woodbury Common as we dont really like the exclusive brands they have there. Instead, we caught the bus from the Port Authority at Times Square and headed out to Jersey.
The bus trip there took about an hour and it was very interesting for us. We went under a tunnel and came up the other side overlooking Manhattan. We passed many schools and residential areas along the way, so we got to see what American housing and suburbs were like.
The Mall itself was great. We found many shops that were not in Manhattan (eg Nordstrom, Yankee Candle, food court ) and the prices seemed a bit lower. It was not crowded at all and we shopped in a lovely stress free enviroment. The food court was good and the bathrooms were spotless.
The only downside was the bus trip back -we left at 4pm but we encountered peak traffic and it took almost 2 hours. We didnt really mind as we didnt have anything planned that night and we passed some interesting things on the way back (eg high school football and cheerleading practice which we had never seen before)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Shopping Mall Mecca!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

If you can't find what you need at this mall I don't know where you can go. Anchor stores are Macy's, Neiman Marcus, Nordstrom's, Lord & Taylor, JCPenny and every little store you can think of. Aeropostale, American Eagle, Coach and all the name brands you like. It was filled with shoppers and a ot of shopping bags. You felt safe and comfortable. Pleanty of visible security and clean, yes I said it, clean bathrooms. Maybe it was just a lucky day. A nice sized food court with the usual restaurants. Some nice restaurants are attached to the mall too if you don't want fast food. Parking ws easy and it was easily accessible off Route 17. Happy shopping!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Montaukbeachgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westfield Garden State Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing