We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tough to find”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtyard Paramus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Paramus
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Rindge, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tough to find”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The quality of the rooms was above average, but finding the hotel was a pain. It is a tiny entrance that in the dark was tough to find. I drove by multiple times and can't stand driving in New Jersey as it is. Overall it is a quality hotel, once you're there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard Paramus, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. I do apologize that you found it difficult to get to our hotel. It is true that New Jersey roads in general can be sometimes difficult to navigate. Our front office staff is very helpful in assisting travelers from out of state find the best route to our hotel. We certainly encourage anyone who might have difficulty to call one of our local direction experts at the front desk.
I am happy that you enjoyed your room and found us to be a quality hotel. We do hope that you return to us during your next visit to the Paramus area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    90
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
77
38
6
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had stayed in this hotel twice before, once when it first opened, and then a couple of years ago. Had occasion to be in the area again, and was pleased to see that their standards have not diminished one iota. Staff super-helpful and friendly, rooms clean and quiet, coffee and tea in the lobby late into the night. It's a bit hard to get to, with the complications of NJ Route 17, but worth the effort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanvandriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard Paramus, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of your most recent stay at our hotel. We are happy that we have been able to maintain the high level of guest service that you once again experienced with us. We have a great staff who do pride themselves on making each guest stay a pleasant one.
We do hope to have you at our hotel again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
241 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Location was convenient to the city. Was very comfortable and clean. Challenging to get to if not comfortable with the area traffic patterns.

A little confusion over the whirlpool which was removed to make room for the pool lift (which I completely understand) but wasn't clear this was not available at the time.

Breakfast was a little expensive in my opinion but the staff was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiberjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard Paramus, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
To our Valued Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us at the Paramus Courtyard. We are very happy that we were able to meet your needs during your recent stay with us.
As you mentioned, we did remove the spa whirlpool approximately a year ago. However, it did free up much more space for chairs and recliners around our year round indoor heated pool.
Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to have you back soon as a guest of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is right off the Garden State Parkway on Hwy 17. VERY LARGE, clean, updated rooms. VERY comfortable "cushion top" mattresses. Late check out (noon). In room coffee (extra bags given with a smile on request). There is no charge to use the pool or exercise room (well kept equipment: an elliptical trainer, stepper, bike and treadmills with weights). The breakfast is well worth the price- made to order omelets, French toast or Belgian waffles... fresh fruits, oatmeal, bacon, eggs, scrambled eggs, pastries, breads and cereals. Coffee always available in the lobby but at breakfast you are served by a DELIGHTFUL wait staff. The front desk was very helpful and extremely friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel for families or business travelers who are in the NYC metro area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue2elon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard Paramus, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the amenities that the hotel offers. Our exercise room and pool are definately popular with our guests as is our hot breakfast buffet. I will certainly let our staff know what a great job they did in making your visit an enjoyable one. We do hope to see you again during your next visit to the Paramus area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

A belated review (stayed there a year ago). Staff were pleasant and excellent. Breakfast was good. Only comment is when you come off the Gargen State Pkwy onto Hwy 17, the exit to the hotel comes up real quick - is the first exit on your right. If you miss it, you'll have to travel up 17 until you reach a cross-over exit; go back down to a cross-over exit past the Courtyard then, backtrack to the correct exit for the CY. Hwy 17 has a barrier down the middle of it so no left turns.

I'd stay there again, now that I know how to get to it :).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard Paramus, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
To our Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, the entrance to our hotel does come up quickly after you exit the Garden State Parkway. As long as you stay in the right lane it is an easy turn into our hotel. We have recently cut down many trees in front of the hotel in response to guest comments and this has improved visibility of the hotel location. We hope to have you back soon as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

24 hour coffee was good. Breakfast staff was polite. Quality of breakfast was good. It is a nice location for college shopping and visiting New York city. Large parking lot. Entry to the hotel is a little strange...you have to enter through SYM's entrance...exit is alsoa little strange.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uday P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard Paramus, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of our hotel. We are very pleased that you had a good stay with us. We do share an entrance with the Sym's department store. Once turning off of Rt 17 North into the Syms parking lot the hotel is right there next to it.
Visitors are often suprised just how close we are to all of the great shopping available in the Paramus area, as well as being in close proximity to Manhattan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 small kids, ages 3 and 1. Any request I had the hotel staff accommodated. The room we had - had a king size bed, fold out sofa, coffee table, desk and free Internet.....it was very spacious! The parking lot gets full at night, so a close parking is hard to get but the parking area is well lit. The only thing I didn't like was the breakfast was expensive and kids were half off but with a 3 yr old and 1 year old, paying for bfast that they barely eat is not fun. Also the hotel does not have complementary water so you will need to bring your own bottled water for your kids. However I was told I could request a microwave for our room when we arrived but that is not true, The only microwave is in the loby and it is not that great at all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard Paramus, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very happy that your family enjoyed your time at the Paramus Courtyard. We are very fortunate to have such a great staff at the property, and we appreciate your comments regarding the great service that you experienced.
I would like to apologize that a microwave was not available for you during your stay. We do have a supply of microwaves that can be placed in our guestrooms. We recently doubled our supply, so not having one available will not be an issue during any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paramus
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Mariott Paramus
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Paramus
2.8 mi away
Saddle Brook Marriott
Saddle Brook Marriott
#1 of 4 in Saddle Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza - Saddle Brook
Crowne Plaza - Saddle Brook
#2 of 4 in Saddle Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Paramus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Paramus

Property: Courtyard Paramus
Address: 320 Route 17 North, Opening in April 2008, Paramus, NJ 07652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Paramus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Paramus 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Paramus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Paramus Hotel Paramus
Paramus Courtyard
Paramus Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing