We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Korean Restaurant in NY/NJ area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of So Moon Nan Jip

So Moon Nan Jip
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Korean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Korean Restaurant in NY/NJ area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We are lovers of this 'hidden' cuisine. Korean should be a lot more poplular than it is. It is different than the other Oriental cusines in that they specialize in the appetizers, the special bastings and when barbecued over coals at the table it can't be beat. For those that don't like spicy or Kimchi there is lots of other dishes to choose from.

At So Moon Nan they are friendly extremely fast and efficient. The only downside to this place is that they are always packed. The Panchon (appetizers) came out varied and within minutes of our seating. The main dishes including the Korean fish pancakes, Chapchae (a delicious mild noodle dish), Kalbi (bbq beef ribs) , Bulgogi (bbq flanken) were perfect.

We have been to Korean restaurants in NY, Chicago, Lake Worth, Miami, Manhattan, SF, Tokyo and Seoul. This was the best that we have had anywhere!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bmorgens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice authentic experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Wanted to try something different and ended up coming here. Excellent Korean BBQ in NJ. Ordered sea food soup (cod) and it seemed very authentic (we are not Korean). Hot tea served with the food and the appetizers in the small dishes (don't know what its called) were excellent.The ambiance was nice and the food was tasty. They actually have coals if you want to try the BBQ. Servers are nice and prompt with everything.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Akshay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Korean BBQ in NJ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This place rocks. It was packed when we arrived but we didn't have to wait too long. I have to say the food here was great, amazing even. The Real Charcoal makes all the difference in my view. The meat was high quality the staff while brusk were quite attentive and the food came super quickly. The side dishes were awesome. We went with the whole family for our anniversary dinner and had a great time and the food was right on.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CBM009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Korean BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

If your looking for authentic Korean BBQ cuisine , this is it. Good quality beef and they have a great grilled mackerel too which I love. Service is pretty good too and fast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tokietan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Korean Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Be prepared for long lines on weekends but it is worth it. Great Korean barbeque over charcoal fire. Everything is very tasty, some very spicy. Close to a municpal parking lot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Koz816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed So Moon Nan Jip also viewed

Palisades Park, NJ
Palisades Park, NJ
 
Palisades Park, NJ
 

Been to So Moon Nan Jip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing