We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good paella!”
Review of Atlantic Manor

Atlantic Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Ogdensburg
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good paella!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went with another couple on Sunday of Memorial Day weekend. A decent crowd, but we were seated immediately. The soup course is an interesting start to your meal. A light, white bean soup. Not meant as a meal, simply a starter course, it's included with every dinner. Fresh salad followed. Highly recommend the red sangria. We went through 2 pitchers. Three of us enjoyed Paella Valenciana. The lobster was large, and not overdone. There was plenty of shellfish, chicken, chorizo, etc in our order for two. Enough left to take home too! Flan for dessert.
Although no one in our party ordered the rodizio, it looked great.
Our server was very good. Right there when needed, yet let us linger and enjoy our evening. Given the location, it's not inexpensive, but the food is surprisingly good! The atmosphere is much nicer inside than you might expect. Give it a try, you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CamNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very disappointed in the food and service while dining there with guest from out of town. Since they love Portuguese food, we had recommended going to the Atlantic Manor, as we had dined there several times in the past and were always pleased. Not this time! The two of the 6 dishes that we ordered were COLD. They were sent back and returned to us COLD again. The third time resulted in semi-warm food. The food was average at best. The waiter got lost for long periods of time. We waited 20 minutes for the check and it wasn't crowded. We were also charged $6 for "sharing"...no extra food...just $6 extra for nothing. We are now crossing the Atlantic Manor off the list and won't return. Something has changed because you usually couldn't get in the place on a Saturday night but there were plenty of tables available on this Saturday night...a sure sign of a place going down hill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top notch service and food!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from our first trip to Atlantic Manor! The food was amazing and very modestly priced! Each year on my husband's birthday, we chooses a Portuguese restaurant to dine at and the restaurant has changed each year...but it won't ever change again, now that we found Atlantic Manor! The shrimp with garlic appetizer was spot on and so were the stuffed mushrooms! The bean soup they bring at the beginning was delicious and the bread nice and warm! My husband had the stuffed lobster and he enjoyed every bite! I had the grilled salmon and it was delicious and huge!!! Our teenager had the half BBQ chicken and she loved it! Our nine year old loved her fried shrimp and they even have a kids menu which hasn't been the case with the other places we have tried! My husband had red sangria and said it was delicious! For dessert, I had the crime brûlée and it was simply amazing! Hubby had the rice pudding and the even put a candle in it and sang Happy Birthday to him! All in all, we had a wonderfully delicious time and we WILL be returning!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Toofaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredon, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“portugese dining”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The restaurant is great for Portugese quisine . A wonderful experience and the staff couldn't be friendlier.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Atlantic Manor for lunch”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Food is good. I went for lunch on a Sunday with a coupon from the Entertainment book. Be advised that Sunday lunch is not considered lunch, it's dinner. Coupon was not accepted.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripgirl918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Manor also viewed

 

Been to Atlantic Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing