We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Southwestern Cuisine The Greatest Salsa on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Sky Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Sky Cafe
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Awesome Southwestern Cuisine The Greatest Salsa on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Fresh made salsa great flavors, fantastic corn bread and everything else in between!!! Definitely a winner. Great decor artistic stuff all over We have eaten here countless times indoors and out and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    6
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I was having a craving for nachos and happened by this little place on Rt 9. What a great little gem! The nacho platter was HUGE! More than enough for 2 or 3! Lots of meat and cheese. Hubby had the chili which was also good and a huge portion! The waitress was very friendly and helpful. I read other reviews that said the food was "bland" but it was just not your usual tex-mex. Will visit again on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jrzygrl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The three of use were the only patrons for the entire meal...and we had to wait 15 minutes for service. The cooks we chatting in the kitchen and the waiter was talking on the phone...and we had to wait 15 minutes for service from the young and out of touch waiter.

Tostada and quesadillas were ordered. The salsa was pretty bland, the tostada the same and the quesadilla wasn't too bad after adding salsa and Cholula. I wanted Fajitas, but I had a bad feeling about the food. If there is any doubt, I order the burger, or in the case of Mexican restaurants, the quesadilla...which was a valid decision in this case.

This is another BYOB place (a nice Margarita would have been welcome), but they do accept credit cards.

To be fair, my tastes and experiences run towards Southwest-style Mexican food with flavor galore. Red Sky was more like Mexican food in Whitehorse, YT Canada (there's two of them there, BTW). You could do better at home with a recipe from the Food Network.

If you're used to really good Mexican food, this isn't your kind of place.

Helpful?
Thank Manny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our server Jen was very good. Greeted promptly, friendly, good knowledge of the menu and did a good job of suggestive selling with out being pushy. That being said the food was ok, lacked any flare, bland, not bad just need to be kicked up a little

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food, fair prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

It has been years since we went to Red Sky and I had heard the quality of service had declined. Our service was decent. The restaurant is tiny which us fine. But we were seated in the patio which is basically a 3 seasons room...in January. It was cold and I could not take off my jacket. My husband loved his tamales and I had the roasted eggplant soup which was delicious. We like to BYOB occasionally and this was the perfect stop after Cape May Brewing. Prices are more than fair for the quality if food. Although I do think they should make fresh salsa. The jarred salsa (assuming) was a disappointment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildmanjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sky Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing