We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable bed, tasty french toast, and an ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Ocean Grove
Ranked #2 of 19 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A comfortable bed, tasty french toast, and an ocean view”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The Inn at Ocean Grove was my first bed and breakfast experience and I really enjoyed it.

I think one of the best things about The Inn is its location. The beach and boardwalk are about a block and a half away from the front door. I could hear the ocean waves through my closed bedroom window, which provided a great relaxation element. The Inn is also just a couple blocks away from local stores along Main Avenue.

About the room, the queen-sized bed was warm and comfortable. The room and bathroom were clean and provided space to spread out my things. The room also contained a mini-fridge. The Inn also has a very nice rooftop deck that would have been great for lounging during the summer months.

Breakfast was also good. In addition to a list of breakfast menu items, the Inn provided a small buffet of coffee, juice, milk, scones, and toast. I enjoyed the chocolate chip scones and the delicious french toast. I also had a nice breakfast table conversation with other guests.

I enjoyed my stay and plan to return during the summer months.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNBallroomDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    33
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
62
100
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Had a wonderful stay on New Year's Eve. The reception/dining area is cozy, bright, and well decorated. The room (#3) was laid out well, especially for having kids with you. The bathroom, particularly the shower, needs some serious updating and better lighting, but everything was very clean. The inn keeper Pam was wonderful and even gave us some milk and cereal the night before to keep in our room fridge because our kids would be up before breakfast was served!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greentox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn! We were on the top floor and next to the roof top balcony where we took in views of the ocean. We were within walking distance to the train and dowtown restaurants and shops. The off season price can't be beat either. Breakfast was delicious and the innkeeper, Pam, went out of her way to make us feel at home.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HDogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This is one of our favorite stops on the way home from New York City and we are totally impressed with the high level of comfort and cleanliness they maintain here as well as a fantastic free breakfast, discount beach passes and a friendly staff. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a weekend in beautiful, quaint Ocean Grove, NJ, where we stayed for two nights at The Inn at Ocean Grove, at first glance a perfectly charming bed and breakfast. We had the "pleasure" of staying in Room #4, nothing more than a "glorified closet" with a double bed, although it did have a private bathroom. As the weekend progressed, the lack of attention to detail became more and more apparent. Now, I must admit that I am not a "clean freak" but when I am spending hard-earned money at a pricey Jersey Shore B&B, I expect not to have to share the dirt of the room's previous occupants. In addition to the room appearing somewhat "run down," there was a definite lack of thorough cleaning. When you wipe water from the floor after a shower with a white towel and the towel turns black, it speaks volumes about the last time the floor must have been adequately washed. It was also obvious that no one had swept/vacuumed very well under the armoire.

Breakfast was "okay," consisting of a freshly-prepared choice of scrambled eggs, cheese omelet, french toast or pancakes served with turkey sausage and a slice of cantaloupe. Serve-yourself items included coffee (no decaf), orange juice, whole peaches and plums and streusel-topped pound cake. Immediately prior to checking out this morning, we sat down to enjoy breakfast and after starting our meal were joined by two other guests. As mt husband had nearly finished 1/2 of his pancakes (WITH SYRUP) one of the women poured said syrup on her french toast, only to discover it was infested with gnats. Needless to say, my husband promptly discarded the remainder of his breakfast.

Upon checkout, the proprietor/manager (not sure which he was) did not even inquire about our stay. That being said, I would definitely never stay at this establishment again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jukeboxgraduate56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the inn at ocean grove. The inn is beautiful and quaint. We slept in the Angelic Bedroom. This bedroom has its own bathroom. I noticed some of the other rooms do not have a personal bathroom. The jacquzzi is right across from the bedroom but we did not have the opportunity to use it. The bedrooms do not have TV's however there is a common area on the top floor that has a TV. The room also has an AC but we rarely used it because there was always a cool oceanbreeze. The inn also provides breakfasts which includes tea, coffee, cake, toast, preserves, fresh fruit, pancakes, scrambled eggs, omlets, and french toast. The inn is about a block away from the beach. The area is clean, peaceful and beautiful. George was our innkeeper. He was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aparrilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We have been coming to The Inn at Ocean Grove for the past five years and consider it one of the best choices along the Shore for value, cleanliness and charm.
They also have a great breakfast cooked to order and a knowledgable staff that can find bargains in The Grove and nearby Asbury Park.
Even though we live nearby in Ocean County, we take several "mini vacations" here in summer and fall and recommend it highly. The roof deck offers a great view as well as lounge chairs and the patio and porch are great places to mingle or relax.
In short, This place is Ab Fab, Absolutely Fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachywoman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
1.1 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
287 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ocean Plaza
The Ocean Plaza
#3 of 19 in Ocean Grove
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
6.7 mi away
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Long Branch
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ocean Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ocean Grove

Property: The Inn at Ocean Grove
Address: 27 Webb Ave, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1335
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi in the entire Inn with a tv room w/ cable & Netflix. A year round romantic retreat with full gourmet breakfast an easy walk to beach, shopping and attractions. Designer decorated rooms with emphasis on style and comfort. Special rates for groups, weddings and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Ocean Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing