We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B, town very nice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B, town very nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Had a girls overnight stay at the Majestic with one of my close friend. We had a very nice room on the 1st flr. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious. We were given a key to the front door upon check-in and could come and go as we pleased. Awesome front porch to sit and look at the beautiful homes and ocean. The Majestic is a beautiful Hotel and Ocean Grove was so nice with it's quaint restaurants, shops and of course the boardwalk & beach. I would definitely recommend the Majestic, and hope that I get to go back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VLT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    34
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
28
80
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a Saturday night in April at The Majestic Hotel. It was a great escape from NYC and we were able to get to and from the hotel completely via public transport, as we don't have a car. That's a big plus.

The hotel is only a block from the boardwalk and beach, on a quiet street that had cherry blossoms trees, in full bloom, on each side. Everyone was incredibly friendly in Ocean Grove-- and at The Majestic. We had arrived a bit before check in and the staff was happy to hold our bags until check in time while we went to explore the beach and town. Upon arriving back at the hotel, we checked into Room #15, which is lobby level, has two beds (a queen and a twin, I think?) a great little kitchen unit. It has a view of the garden outside.The room had absolutely incredible attention to detail. It was immaculate. And, as promised in our groupon package, there was a bottle of champagne and a fruit and cheese plate waiting for us. While the room was nice, I'd probably suggest staying in a different room in the upstairs of the hotel. We were conscious that we were very close to the staff and anyone in the lobby. We did explore the hotel a bit, and it was beautiful. The views from the shared porch and widow's watch were fantastic. The continental breakfast was simple but fresh and lovely.

The entire trip was fantastic, and I wish we would have stayed longer. We are very much looking forward to returning to Ocean Grove and to The Majestic Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsKristaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I had such a wonderful stay at the majestic, the room was just beautiful, nice, helpful staff. Lots of little things made the stay better than others e.g. bottled water already in fridge, a really comfortable bed, plenty of towels etc. Definitely recommend here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and I took a quick getaway for our 19th wedding anniversary and we chose The Majestic Hotel in Ocean Grove N.J. because of a Groupon deal. I must say that we loved it! We stayed at contemporary room #7. It was new and modern and it even had a balcony. The staff were friendly but not overbearing which is just how we like it. The hotel was well kept and clean plus it had great views of the beach. The continental breakfast was pretty good. I've had better continental breakfasts in other hotels but for the price it couldn't be beat. We loved the location of the hotel which is steps from the beach. The weather was gorgeous so we had a lovely walk on the boardwalk. We went to Moonstruck Italian restaurant for dinner which was five minutes away and it was wonderful! It was our first time in the Jersey Shore and we will definitely be going back. The only negative I could think of is that we did not receive the cheese platter which was promised with the Groupon. But we had eaten such a great lunch at Cubacon restaurant in Ashbury Park and were full so we didn't care that they forgot the cheese platter. We highly recommend The Majestic Hotel for a quick romantic getaway with your significant other.

Room Tip: Get the contemporary rooms since they are brand new! The other rooms are older.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanieO1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

What a great place, can't wait to go back. Everything is so beautiful - the building itself, the rooms, the view from the porch, even the lobby area is outstanding. The room we had was large and came with two double beds, a gorgeous bathroom and a kitchenette. With the groupon package we had, upon arrival into the room, we were delighted to find a bottle of delicious champagne chilling in a bucket, cheese (including brie), crackers and fruit, and great soft music playing on the cd player.

We took a cab to Langosta for dinner (we could have just walked there from the boardwalk if the weather had cooperated). The food was terrific and it had a great crowd - highly recommended. Then we just walked across the street from the restaurant and went to the Stone Pony to listen to a Bruce Springstein cover band - fun night.

The boardwalk and beach are steps away from the property (less than half a block). Perfect location.

Breakfast was pretty simple, but okay to start the day. The owners are very friendly and have lots of good restaurant suggestions. This really is a first class property and anyone lucky enough to experience it will always want to visit it again and again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChampagnePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

As much travelling as I've done, I've never stayed in a bed and breakfast before. In addition, I've never visited Ocean Grove, NJ...which is ironic since I'm a Jerseyean who only lives a half hour away! Both new experiences were pleasantly surprising. The Majestic was warm and cozy...great service and the feeling of truly getting away without really "going away" was wonderful. Perfectly located...steps away from the beautiful beach and in the other direction a quaint little town with shops and little eateries (go to Nagles for any meal and especially the ice cream!). A short walk up the boardwalk, and you're in booming Asbury Park! Staying here, you can't lose. Will definitely be booking again...perhaps even a fall trip!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonvoyagenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

Location is great if you're a beach goer....one short block. Great view of ocean from property's front porch. This is a small town with cute little shops and restaurants. l like a big city atmosphere so I visited New York, Atlantic City and D.C. while there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Plaza
The Ocean Plaza
#3 of 19 in Ocean Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: 19 Main Ave, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1323
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic! The premier Hotel in the historic town of Ocean Grove, NJ and among the top rated hotels along the NJ shoreline. Built in 1870, with additional sumptuous and spacious accommodations added in 2007; luxurious surroundings and a gracious staff offer a 5-Star experience delivered with a personal touch. At Bia, a European bistro, guests indulge in offerings elegantly crafted by our Executive Chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing