We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 19 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Convenient location, only two hours by car from NY. Located directly by the sea in a residential area. A charming, historic bed and breakfast, complete with squaeking stairs and small but spotless and cosy rooms. The owners are sincerely friendly and make this a home away from home. The breakfast with a desert of fresh fruit and cake on the veranda was super - thanks Jane. I was there for business and will recommend this place to anyone - business or pleasure - staying in a 200 mile radius.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

Three flights of steep stairs to go and come from the beach. Rooms to small to move around in. Bath and sink in two separate rooms, Victorian "tea parlor" in the basement, another set of steps. Im not handicapped or a senior citizen, but be warned, the pictures are barely truthful. No amenities, no attention to any guests whike I was there. Coukdnt wait to leace.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rosalind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

On our recent trip to US , we choose this b&b for a short stay on Jersey Shore and loved it! The location was great. Everything in town was walking distance. We loved being so close to the ocean. Every room is very unique with it's own theme and the entire decor is just amazing. The hosts are very friendly, attentive and welcoming. We enjoyed wonderful breakfast on the porch with some amazing beach views. Would love to go back for a longer stay!

Room Tip: Our rooms on the third floor had a stunning ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Lillagaard B & B for my anniversary this summer and have since been back. My husband and I were treated like royalty for our special day. The owners and staff let no small detail get by them. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, the breakfasts were catered to perfection and the common areas are comfortable and relaxing spaces. The owners, Dick and Jane Wehr, are very knowledgeable about the history, sites and events of this small destination spot on NJ's coast. I love the Lillagaard and all Ocean Grove has to offer! I highly recommend staying there for friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCrow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We had a wonderful few days at this beautiful place. Porches with white wicker,just like the movies. Delicious breakfast, we were served on beautiful china etc. Attention to detail was much appreciated. Dick and Jane are great hosts. They made sure I had special milk which was important for me to have. Clean rooms, it is great to have a place that takes you back in time,yet be so current in time. Cannot wait to go back in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Ocean Grove is one of my favorite towns! But as someone who has stayed in positively delightful B&Bs in Cape May, in PA and others, this one is the worst I have ever seen. The coffee station was filthy and sparse, with few tea bags or supplies. The spartan breakfast was served on styrophome with plastic forks and cereal out of little cardboard boxes like a Motel 6. There were no toiletries at all, so bring your own. Other B&Bs serve actual food on china dishes and often give you FREE afternoon teas. This one has rooms that are so small that you cannot change your clothes and then charges you rebooking fees when you leave, even if they are able to rerent the room without loss to some other guest who thinks they are "lucky" enough to get a place at the last minute. If not, you get to pay the cost even if you don't use the room or you can just be stuck there with no toiletries in a cramped room with a noisy air conditioner and a sink at the foot of the bed. By the way, the staff gets REALLY nasty when you say you want to leave or you start asking for things, especially the owner.

Room Tip: "Double room" should have a twin bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NJGirlNXile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have had the good fortune of being guests at The Lillagaard for many years and it has always been a treat to return. Dick and Jane are truly outstanding hosts and they have a special way of making their guests feel completely at home. They have a wonderful knowledge of the area and they are very good in helping people plan their day or find a restaurant for dinner. Much thought has been given to creating a lovely Victorian atmosphere and this is reflected in the decor of the rooms, which are very clean and well supplied with towels.The large and beautiful porch, with its view of the ocean and splendidly embelished Victorian houses is worth the trip itself. The beach and boardwalk are a little less than a half block away. The day starts with a delicious buffet breakfast and cold beverages are always available. It is indeed a pleasure to be a guest at The Lillagaard!!

Room Tip: some rooms have a sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesterjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
1 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
300 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Plaza Hotel
The Ocean Plaza Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ocean Grove
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ocean Grove
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Stratford Inn
Bellevue Stratford Inn
#12 of 19 in Ocean Grove
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Abbott Ave, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range: $134 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lillagaard Hotel Ocean Grove
Lillagaard Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing