We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good variety, good food”

The Starving Artist
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Ocean Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good variety, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

most of the staff are very efficient and attentive. the food is good as is the selection. We like to breakfast there as much as possible, not always easy cause they are not so near to us, but we find it to be the best breakfast around. Staff generally will accommodate special requests as they are able.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank shoppingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    64
    24
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
336 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot in Ocean Grove”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had breakfast here one Sunday. The place was very busy and we had a short wait. The food was very good, my friend especially liked the cherry almond pancakes! Their sausages were excellent, reminiscent of those you find in England.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ForbesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic breakfast and lunch place with delicious ice cream too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We liked the friendly service. Try the breakfast burritto with or without chorizo sausage. At the ice cream place around the corner called Days, try the white pistachio from Double Rainbow or the vegan ice cream made with cashews from Raw Dog.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AunteeGiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Memory!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I went to the beach. Unfortunately, it started raining, so we started back to the car. It POURED down. We were soaked and hungry. We walked through the rain until we found this place. We were afraid they wouldn't serve us, because we were so wet. ....but they did. They were so friendly. The coffee was hot. The food was good. The service was a amazing...quite a bargain. We look forward to going back many times in the future.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bad coffee, slow service, horrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We came for breakfast. Standard Ocean Grove coffee - basically brown water. The oatmeal was watery and clearly instant, virtually inedible. The muffins were terrible. The service was very friendly but absurdly slow. We left hungry and annoyed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Starving Artist also viewed

Ocean Grove, Jersey Shore
Ocean Grove, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Starving Artist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing