We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service, extremely rude!!! Average food don't let the lines fool you.”

The Starving Artist
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Ocean Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible service, extremely rude!!! Average food don't let the lines fool you.”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The staff is incredibly rude, I'll skip the details other than to say they are consistently rude. Never seen anything like it specially since we are extremely low maintenance as customers, it's just bizarre...

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    64
    26
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average breakfast place”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My parents came into town so we decided to go to breakfast in ocean grove. Ocean grove being such a unique place, I thought it would have better standards. It appears to be a place where a lot of regular locals go. The food was marginal. My mother ordered a fruit bowl and I will say it was the saddest fruit combo ever. It was honestly just red grapes with cantaloupe in the middle of summer when it is supposedly the freshest time if year. Simply put, it was just average breakfast food with bigger price tags. I will positively remark on our waitress who was very busy yet attentive to our table. She was awesome at refilling my dad's cup of coffee which believe it or not is a big deal to him. I will end by saying there are so many better breakfast places in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JSylvia707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding breakfast (and ice cream) in a charming historic setting.”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Ocean Grove has lots of options for food - but our hands-down 'go to' restaurant for breakfast is Starving Artist. The menu always has innovative pancake and egg dishes - in fact the crumb cake pancakes are now on the regular menu - hooray! We had pumpkin pancakes on our last visit - hooray again - and they were delicious, not too sweet, and I added blueberries to mine - real berries, not syrup. Yum. They also do a great lunch and in the summer months you can walk out the back porch to the ice cream parlor - so if you time your meal right you walk from breakfast into dessert! Charming interior, artsy and GREAT personal friendly service - a winner every time.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4NJ_HappyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Quaint, quiet and quite a find”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Gorgeous crisp day today went for lunch - by noon we could sit outside in the garden - pleasant staff - attentive and helpful - breakfast and lunch served all day and specials besides - one block in off the main area and worth it - we had no room for dessert but Days Ice Cream right next door.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faemuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great, filling breakfast”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Starving Artist offers up a terrific breakfast. Visited the folks for the weekend and every Sunday finds the folks getting up early for breakfast at The Starving Artist. High compliments already since my father is a tough critic!

Scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, and my favorite ... the pork roll. The pork roll is cooked to perfection. A Jersey breakfast staple that is just done perfectly here.

The place is always crowded so its best to either arrive real early to beat the morning rush OR exhibit some patience and not be afraid of the line to get in (especially in the summer time) as the restaurant turns its tables over quickly and you truly do not wait all that long.

The place is set up very nicely with a ton of outdoor space on their ratherlarge belcony when the weather permits.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikedespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Starving Artist also viewed

 
Ocean Grove, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Starving Artist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing