We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels like your "home away from home". (Only better!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Spray Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sea Spray Inn
Save
You added The Sea Spray Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 20 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“It feels like your "home away from home". (Only better!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It was like visiting family at a gorgeous, beach location. Ocean Grove is so quaint & The Sea Spray ended up being a fabulous choice. The innkeeper's, Mary Ellen & Eric, were so lovely & welcoming. They really make you feel at home. We were served a delicious breakfast every morning, which also included some of Mary Ellen's yummy baked goodies. Oh my goodness...out of this world! When I arrived, I couldn't get over how "exact" my room looked as compared to the website. The house is clean, the bathroom was spotless, the bed was comfy & it was a stone's throw from the beach. Can't ask for more than that! But you get more...you also get the sweet, adorable Katie...their doggie! She's gentle and quiet. You can't help but love her, this Inn & the owners. Can't wait to go back!
Pam

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faziola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
240
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is my second time I stayed here and was not disappointed at all. Both trips were fantastic. Maryellen and Eric are such great owners. This time I went with my sister that was visiting and she was so amazed how clean the inn was and how sweet the owners and their dog were. Even the day we left, the owners let us come back after the ocean day and let us use their bathroom to clean up and change before our trip home. Maryellens breakfasts are delicious which includes her special crumb cake. If you are looking for a great place, this is it. I can not wait till next summer to go back again.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the Rosebud room and the Lavender room and either one was great. The view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letterl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was the most delightful Inn we have ever stayed in. Fantastic breakfast every morning.
Beverages available all day long. Ironed Sheets!!!, Fluffy towels, including beach towels.
the Inn Keepers meet any need or request. We have traveled to 37 countries and all of our 50 states and we enjoyed this inn better than any place we have stayed. The hospitality was outstanding. Try it, you'll like it..
Bob and Ann, Winston Salem, NC

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great location, 1 block from beach. The owners, Maryellen and Eric, pay attention to the details, like having beach towels and beach bag in the room, and fresh made brownies or cookies available. Newspapers and excellent service.

The Sea Spray Inn is immaculate and the food is great. Maryellen and Eric go out of their way to make you feel special. I have stayed at other B&Bs in Ocean Grove, but the Sea Spray is definately my 1st choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delfino18946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We only stayed here for one night in August but wish it had been longer. Mary Ellen and Eric are great hosts and have thought of everything. Their property is immaculate and their attention to detail is impressive - from the lovely, crisp sheets and towels to the pretty and inviting decor (from headboards to pillows to paintings) to the amazing baked goods and breakfast. I'd highly recommend the Sea Spray Inn for an easy jaunt to the Jersey Shore - less than 2 hours from NYC and just a block from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCExplorer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just came back back from a 2 night mid week stay in Ocean Grove at The Sea Spray Inn. It didn't take long before we realized why this Inn is ranked #1 in Ocean Grove and #2 in all of Jersey. Mary Ellen, Eric and Katie were very welcoming when we arrived at their beautiful , well appointed Inn. Morning started with a phenomenal breakfast, Mary Ellen’s fresh baked crumb cake and scones were delicious, as were her made from scratch fresh blueberry pancakes. Restaurants, shops and the beach are all within a short walking distance. Mary Ellen and Eric were always available to answer questions and offer suggestions. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windsor407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had the most wonderful stay at The Sea Spray Inn. This was our first visit to Ocean Grove and The Sea Spray Inn. Mary Ellen and Eric were lovely hosts--very personable! Our room was very clean and was decorated so nicely (we stayed in the Venetian room). The breakfasts were amazing! Mary Ellen can cook and bake very well! We really enjoyed their dog Katie! What a sweetheart! Location is very convenient to the beach. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
1.2 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 stars 1,660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Plaza
The Ocean Plaza
#3 of 20 in Ocean Grove
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Spray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Spray Inn

Property: The Sea Spray Inn
Address: 19 Broadway, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality, ocean views, breezes and comfortable decor are all one block from the beach and overlooking Fletcher Lake in our romantic Bed and Breakfast in the south end of Historic Ocean Grove. Eight private rooms of this luxurious 1880 Victorian home have provided accommodations to the public since the turn of the 20th Century. An experience you will never forget! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sea Spray Hotel Ocean Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing