We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Spray Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sea Spray Inn
Save
You added The Sea Spray Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 20 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We just returned from staying two nights at the Sea Spray Inn, and we loved it! It's hard to know where to start! We stayed in the Birdcage Room, and the bed was so comfortable! We had a nice view of Fletcher Lake and the ocean. The room was large, and I liked the theme! Eric and Mary Ellen are very welcoming, and we enjoyed talking to them so much! They know alot about Ocean Grove, and it was interesting to learn a little of the history of the area. The breakfast each morning was delicious. Mary Ellen is a fabulous cook! They also have a very friendly and wonderful dog, Katy. We can't wait to stay at this bed and breakfast the next time we visit our daughter in New Jersey!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skiergirlBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
242
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This was our second New Year's weekend at The Sea Spray. The Inn is so charming and relaxing and just right after the hectic holidays. Don't miss the Venetian Room with its extra-large bathtub made for 2!! We will definitely be back next New Year's.....and hopefully in between too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollybabe921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This is a lovely little inn and the owners, Mary Ellen and Eric, are delightful. The breakfasts were delicious and Mary Ellen was gracious enough to share her recipes. Decor is elegant and had a welcoming appeal. We plan to visit again!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kbfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This was our seventh visit to The Sea Spray Inn and, as usual, it was totally relaxing and enjoyable. Mary Ellen and Eric are wonderful hosts, always giving their guests a wonderful experience. Breakfast was delicious. Mary Ellen is a fabulous cook, always searching for new and exciting recipes to please her guests. The Inn is beautiful and the rooms are spotless with everything you need to make your visit a success. Ocean Grove is a charming town and the ocean is just steps away from the inn. We are looking forward to another visit to lovely Ocean Grove and The Sea Spray Inn. L&V

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. To find the best one for you, I suggest you visit their web site which de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linvin664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Sea Spray. Mary Ellen and Eric were lovely, and the accommodations were very charming and clean. The breakfast was delicious and we were even treated to evening wine and cheese before heading out, which was a very nice surprise. The location is perfect, very convenient to the shops in town and a stone's throw to the beach. We would definitely recommend the Sea Spray Inn in Ocean Grove, NJ.

Steve & Donna Struck
Ridley Park, PA

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Lavendar room where we stayed, which has a bathtub and a stall shower and was decorat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveDonna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings-on-Hudson
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My life has been so aggravating lately, and I was hoping a weekend away with my BFF (Chef Char!) would help me unwind. My recent stay at The Sea Spray Inn proved to be the antidote to all the stress and negativity that has been plaguing me for the past month or so! My room was beautiful and comfortable (and spotless!) with cable TV, a fridge and an ocean view. Mary Ellen and Eric were so warm and welcoming. I’m still thinking about the scones! Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LJTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The Sea Spray Inn is a wonderful B&B. The rooms are a great size, very clean and they all have their own bathrooms. You can see the Ocean from the 2nd floor balcony and it's only a little over a block from the beach.

The homemade breakfasts are amazing and Mary Ellen and Eric are very kind and accommodating.

If you are in Ocean Grove or nearby, that's the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chefchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
1.1 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 stars 1,792 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Plaza
The Ocean Plaza
#3 of 20 in Ocean Grove
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Spray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Spray Inn

Property: The Sea Spray Inn
Address: 19 Broadway, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1338
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality, ocean views, breezes and comfortable decor are all one block from the beach and overlooking Fletcher Lake in our romantic Bed and Breakfast in the south end of Historic Ocean Grove. Eight private rooms of this luxurious 1880 Victorian home have provided accommodations to the public since the turn of the 20th Century. An experience you will never forget! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sea Spray Hotel Ocean Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing