We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ocean Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ocean Plaza
Ranked #3 of 19 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, New York, United States
1 review
“Restful Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our first time visiting the Ocean Plaza in Ocean Grove NJ. It was everything we expected and more. We arrived in the afternoon and were greeted with a warm smile and open arms. Our room was on the third floor walk up which was the best view by far in the entire hotel. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the room and how it made me feel at home. The hotel is in an ideal walking location to the boardwalk and main street shopping and dining. The staff were eager to please in giving perfect recommendations on eateries and local attractions. The beds were very comfy and my eight month old son slept just as well in the pack & play as he does at home. (They do provide one for those who don't wish to pack their own.) Breakfast is served on the enclosed balcony deck complete with an indoor fireplace. Delicious pastries, fresh coffee, and an assortment of cereal, fruit, and yogurt beg you to sit and chat with fellow hotel goers. The hotel also provides a DVD library for your in-room viewing pleasure. At the end of our stay we were welcome to linger as long as needed so as not to rush the day away. I would most definitely come back again and perhaps stay a little longer!

Room Tip: If you don't mind the walk-up, choose a third or fourth floor room. The view is nicer and you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    47
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
72
89
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Plaza B and B in September and found it to be both clean and comfortable. Our third floor room was on the small side, but adequate. Breakfast was self-serve continental on the second floor enclosed porch, which has a working fireplace. The innkeeper was quite helpful in giving info on the town's interesting history and in recommending a restaurant for dinner, which we walked to in the adjacent town, Asbury Park. We really enjoyed walking through the town and checking out the Victorian architecture. We had lunch at the local pharmacy which has been turned into a restaurant. We also enjoyed walking on the concrete boardwalk that connects Ocean Grove with Asbury Park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkelley000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have been going to the Ocean Plaza in Ocean Grove for a few years now- with family and friends, both Spring and summer . Love the hotel , especially the Bradley Suite! Traditional rooms are nice too ! Good breakfast , great location , fair prices! Ocean Grove is a little haven ! Good restaurants and shops and near enough to Asbury Park to walk or bike! Boardwalk is also great for walking and biking when allowed . We hope to do a larger family reunion summer 2014 !

Room Tip: Suites are great with balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babsnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stay at this charming Victorian bed & breakfast every summer and it just keeps getting better. The staff is eager to please and seem to make changes each year according to suggestions. New addition - mini fridges in the rooms - VERY helpful! Ocean Plaza's location could not be more ideal - just a few blocks from the adorable Main Ave. in Ocean Grove, a quick walk to the beach, and a pleasant stroll up to Asbury Park for additional attractions. You have awesome restaurants nearby (Sea Grass!) and a very mellow town atmosphere dominated by the local church. Sometimes a "dry town" is ideal when you're not in the mood for drunken carousers keeping you up at night! Ocean Plaza echoes the town's quiet, restful vibe which, to me, is what a beach vacation is all about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamarama345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

B&B is excellent...perfect location...immaculately clean...staff is great..
great breakfast....so serine
Sit on the front porch and enjoy the ocean view....the doo wop show in the great auditorium was fabulous along with a 300 hundred vendor flea market right outside the door
cannot wait to go back

Room Tip: any room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonna1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Plaza with a large group of family and friends for an Ocean Grove wedding! Everything was wonderful! The staff made sure we had everything we needed! The breakfast on the 2nd floor balcony was great and the porch was a great place to meet day or night! Also love the bowl of chocolate in the lobby!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I love the staff here and the yummy fresh breakfast. Everything was fresh and they stocked my favorite creamer. The rooms are impeccably clean and the most important thing they are just one block from the beach and the Great Auditorium.

The toiletries in the bathroom were also very nice and they had a hairdryer for my convenience. They keep a nice bowl of chocolate miniatures in the parlor, the computer in the parlor is excellent, and there are lots of movies, games and books to read, see, and play with. They even have umbrellas in case it rains. And they have a soda machine. We will be coming back!

Room Tip: Rooms 6 & 10 are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYBLONDIE1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
0.7 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Plaza

Property: The Ocean Plaza
Address: 18 Ocean Pathway, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the ocean, this grand century-old hotel was completely restored in 1994 and provides the perfect setting for vacations, relaxing getaways, business travel, family or group get-togethers and weddings. The Plaza is located on historic Ocean Pathway, just a short walk from downtown Ocean Grove with its many unique shops, restaurants and cafes, and walking distance to Asbury Park with its numerous restaurants, art galleries, antique shops and boardwalk. Its numerous balconies and wrap around porches provide magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean, the famed Great Auditorium and the town's extraordinary Victorian architecture. Their attention to detail with a personal touch makes The Ocean Plaza feel like your own private beach house any time of the year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Plaza Hotel Ocean Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing