We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, relaxing, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ocean Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We so enjoyed being one block away from the ocean and although we didn't have enough time fo visit inside the Auditorium, it was a block away the other direction. The Victorian homes, variety of shops, restaurants, are within easy walking distance from Ocean Plaza. Staff extremely helpful, very clean, and we enjoyed looking at the ocean while eating the buffet breakfast. We visited over the 4th of July and watched the OGNJ parade and the fireworks. We recommend a stay at Ocean Plaza and plan to return.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor as you were on the same level as the balcony where the breakfast buffet wa...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Cheryl918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 265 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had the majority of rooms in Ocean Plaza and Ocean View booked for our daughter's wedding
guests this past weekend ! From our first "inquiry" almost a year ago, Vickie has worked with us to make these hotels the perfect gathering places. She has pretty much been the wedding planner also; she has recommended everything from dj's to shuttles! The rooms are beautiful and immaculately clean. The breakfast is more than we ever expected and that upstairs porch is a wonderful place to hang out. We gathered there for an "after rehearsal dinner" party, and then gathered again just hours later for breakfast. All of the staff go out of their way to offer any assistance a guest might need. They are all so friendly and just plain nice! Our guests ranged from 1~90 and all were accomodated beautifully! Many commented that with the location so close to the beach in this beautiful town of Ocean Grove, they were surprised the prices were so reasonable.

I know some people say they will return to a place and then don't. But, with another daughter's wedding this year, I can honestly say- we will all be back! (As one guest said- "I will do one thing different though. I will stay longer!")

Thank you everyone at the Ocean Plaza and Ocean View. You helped make this a wedding
we will remember always.

Room Tip: If you want to get a number of people to stay together, check out the suites!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyk724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

With the Atlantic just one block away, and The Great Auditorium one block in the other direction, this is an ideal location. Ocean Grove is a low-key quiet place on the Jersey Shore.
Buffet Breakfast is served on the balcony in full view of the Ocean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank escw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've stayed at the Ocean Plaza a number of times. They've been consistent everytime in offering a comfortable and caring place to stay. The cleanliness can't be beat. The staff is both attentive and transparent. You really feel like you're at home but all of the daily chores are being attended to by magical invisible beings. The breakfast spread is included in the room fee and is abundant.

The only issue we had was with room 10. It is on the 2nd floor with a floor to cieling window that looks out to the area where the breakfast is prepped and laid out. There are refridgerators and stacked up chairs right outside of the window. Not so bad if you'll be spending a lot of time out, but it is kind of noisy in the morning. I would suggest avoiding this room. I would also suggest that the innkeepers shift the location of the things outside of that window and actually make it so the porch can be accessed from that room.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dlawter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have stayed at many Bed and Breakfasts over the years however the Ocean Plaza was OUTSTANDING! The staff, Sasha, Antonio and Chamille, were courteous, helpful, attentive and accomidated our every need right down to evening coffee! The location was terrific a short walk from the beach and into the town. We were treated and welcomed like family. Thanks again for making our getaway so relaxing! See you soon!!! Linda & Lou Tucci

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

It was wonderful staying here for an event called Bridgefest which we came to and stayed from June 28 through June 30. The staff was wonderful, helpful & kept everything in order from the housekeeping to the breakfast. The location is great to the beach, the lovely town & even to cross over into Asbury Park. You can walk to everything within minutes. We stayed in the large suite on the 3rd & 4th floors called the Bradley which had a living room, kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms & was terrific!! The one bath even has a jacuzzi which was a delight!! One you arrive here, you don't even have to take the car out on the road again, everything is so close by. The views are pretty too!

Room Tip: There is a ramp for handicap accessibility for rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I have visited the Ocean Plaza Inn (and their other property, the Ocean View Inn) several times and we have never been disappointed. We now take our little family there (now with our 5yo and 2yo little boys). We have rented their 1 bedroom or 2 bedroom apartment at the Ocean View Inn, which is perfect for us because it is on the first floor of the Inn and we get all of the amenitites of the Inn (complimentary breakfast, linens provided, etc.) This Inn is amazing because anything that we needed, they were "on it", even if they had to go out and buy an item that was needed. I've never seen hospitality like this elsewhere. They made it easy and enjoyable to be on vacation!

Room Tip: The one bedroom and two bedroom "apartment" at the Ocean View Inn works out great for fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
0.7 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ocean Grove
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Plaza Hotel

Address: 18 Ocean Pathway, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range: $119 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the beach in the beautiful historic seaside town of Ocean Grove, this grand century old hotel features 16 distinctively decorated guest rooms and 3 exceptional suites. Its numerous balconies and wrap around porches provide magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean and the town's extraordinary Victorian architecture. All of the accommodations at the Ocean Plaza include private baths, air conditioning, free WiFi, flat screen cable TV, refrigerators, coffee makers and Continental Breakfast is included. New Jersey Transit and bus transportation from the City are within walking distance. Open year round, guests can enjoy beautiful sunrises and sunsets, a swim in the ocean, a walk along the boardwalk, bicycling or just relaxing away from the hectic pace of the city. We are walking distance to downtown Ocean Grove with its many quaint shops and cafes as well as Asbury Park which just ranked No. 10 in Travel and Leisure Magazine's "50 Best Places to Travel in 2016". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ocean Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Plaza Hotel Ocean Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing