We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and beautiful building.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ocean Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The location of this place is amazing - I knew nothing about ocean grove before coming and found the history of the place fascinating - check out concert possibilities at the Tabernacle - we missed out seeing Diana Krall!. The staff were very friendly and helpful for the most part (people in the breakfast room somewhat less so). 8 of us stayed in the Bradley - a 2 level suite. Staff provided the extra cot required and extra dishes when we asked. Beware the pull-out couch - it was not possible to sleep on this - we took the mattress off and put it on the floor for 2 kids.

Some nice touches at this hotel include having snacks available (pretzels, chips) and beach towels handy by the front door.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTDTT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 263 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

This historic bed & breakfast was the perfect choice for our recent beach getaway from the hectic life in Manhattan. One can take NJ Transit to the Asbury Park station and enjoy a leisure 15-minute walk to Ocean Plaza. This walk affords you the chance to soak in all the Victorian architecture of the town. Ocean Plaza is a stone's throw from the beach and offers you their own beach towels so that you don't have to pack sandy towels in your luggage. The room was very quiet and comfortable. The free breakfast is simple and sufficient.
Above everything about the Ocean Plaza is its prime real estate location. Besides being a 30-second walk to the beach, one can walk to Main Avenue and downtown Ocean Grove, the Asbury Park boardwalk, etc. We did not need a car at all throughout our whole stay there! If you're coming from NYC, hop on the train and walk to dining, sun, and fun from Ocean Plaza. The staff there were all very friendly and helpful. We will be return guests for sure!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tastykakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Clean rooms, charming decor, hospitable staff, and a better than average continental breakfast -- all a block from the beach. That's why we've been going here several times a summer for 5 years.

Room Tip: Long stairways suggest that rooms on the 1st floor are best for young children and the infirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Everything about this trip was wonderful. The Ocean Plaza couldn't have been nicer, with the breakfast, beach towels, beach badges and proximity to the beach. The staff was accomodating and helpful. Relaxing on the porch in the evening was a great way to end the day. Ocean Grove is a lovely town and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bergencounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was a travel zoo deal which turned out to be a great mid week getaway. The Ocean Plaza was even more than we expected. The staff was great, rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was just enough for a beach day outing. The discounted beach passes and towels were a bonus. Ocean Grove is a quaint and welcoming town, a nice place to walk around and grab a bite to eat for dinner or just ice cream if you want. We would love to return for an even longer stay and would definitely stay at the Ocean Plaza.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northjersey345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Hotel was excellent in every way! Location of hotel was one block from the beach and many stores and restaurants. The hospitality of everyone was wonderful, breakfast great and rooms were clean. You could not ask for more!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barnegat_NJLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We found this deal through travel zoo and it far exceeded our expectations! The customer service was exemplary. Everything from the room, to the complimentary breakfast, beach towels and discounted beach passes made this trip incredible. The people of the town are incredibly nice and we definitely look forward to another visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edrivera1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
328 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ocean Grove
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Plaza Hotel

Address: 18 Ocean Pathway, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range: $119 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the beach in the beautiful historic seaside town of Ocean Grove, this grand century old hotel features 16 distinctively decorated guest rooms and 3 exceptional suites. Its numerous balconies and wrap around porches provide magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean and the town's extraordinary Victorian architecture. All of the accommodations at the Ocean Plaza include private baths, air conditioning, free WiFi, flat screen cable TV, refrigerators, coffee makers and Continental Breakfast is included. New Jersey Transit and bus transportation from the City are within walking distance. Open year round, guests can enjoy beautiful sunrises and sunsets, a swim in the ocean, a walk along the boardwalk, bicycling or just relaxing away from the hectic pace of the city. We are walking distance to downtown Ocean Grove with its many quaint shops and cafes as well as Asbury Park which just ranked No. 10 in Travel and Leisure Magazine's "50 Best Places to Travel in 2016". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ocean Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Plaza Hotel Ocean Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing